Awards Current Affairs 2017

PM releases commemorative coins to honour late industrialist Jamsetji Tata

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has released commemorative coins to honour Tata Group founder Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata.

PM released coins in the denomination of 100 and five rupee to mark Jamsetji Tata’s 175th birth anniversary.

Thus, Jamsetji will be the first industrialist in India to be felicitated by the government in such a manner.

He was chosen by the government because he is a legendary figure and the government wants to encourage Indian businesses through this initiative.

So far government has minted coins in honour of artists, freedom fighters, scientists, institutions and organisations.

Earlier, government had honoured Jamsetji twice by releasing his postal stamps one in 1958 and another in 1965.

Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata

He was pioneer industrialist who had founded Tata Group- India’s biggest conglomerate company. He is regarded as Father of Indian Industry.

He was born on 3 March 1839 in Navsari then part of the princely state of Baroda (Now in Gujarat).

His successors’ work led to achieve:

  • Tata Steel: formerly known as Tata Iron and Steel Company Limited (TISCO ) is Asia’s first and India’s largest steel company. It is also world’s fifth largest steel company.
  • Indian Institute of Science (IISc): Located in Bengaluru, it is pre-eminent Indian institution for research and education in Science and Engineering.
  • Tata Hydroelectric Power Supply Company: later it was renamed Tata Power Company Limited, currently India’s largest private electricity company.

It should be also noted that present Jamshedpur district in Jharkhand is named after him. Earlier it was known as Sakchi.


Union Sports Ministry recommends Saina Nehwal’s name for Padma Bhushan award

Union Sports Ministry has recommended badminton player Saina Nehwal’s name for Padma Bhushan award. As per Sports ministry, recommending her name is a special case.

Earlier, she had expressed anger for not being nominated for this year’s award.

However, Sports ministry earlier did not nominate her citing reason that Badminton Association of India (BAI) did not apply for Saina’s name for award on time. Later on 3rd January 2015, BAI had acknowledged Saina’s name to Sports ministry paving way for  her nomination.

About Saina Nehwal

  • She was born 17 March 1990 in Hisar, Haryana.
  • She is the first Indian to win Olympics medal in Badminton and had achieved this feat by winning the Bronze medal at the London Olympics 2012.
  • She is the first Indian to win the World Junior Badminton Championships and was also the first Indian to win a Super Series tournament, by winning Indonesia Open in 2009.
  • She also has won the China Open Super Series Premier-2014.
  • She is only Indian badminton player who attained a career best ranking of number 2 in December 2010 by Badminton World Federation.
  • Awards: Government has awarded her with Arjuna Award (2009), Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (2009–2010) and Padma Shri (2010).

About Padma Bhushan award

It is the third highest civilian award in India, after Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan. It was established on 2 January 1954 by President and is awarded to recognized person for their distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field

Every year it is announced on the occasion of Republic Day. It is conferred to recipient by the President at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.