Awards Current Affairs 2017

UAE-based Indian girl Kehkashan Basu wins 2016 International Children’s Peace Prize

UAE based Indian environmental activist Kehkashan Basu (16) has won 2016 prestigious International Children’s Peace Prize.

She was bestowed with this prestigious award for her fight for climate justice and combating environmental degradation.

She was presented with the award by Bangladesh’s Nobel peace laureate Mohammad Yunus at a glittering ceremony held in The Hague, Netherlands.

About Kehkashan Basu

  • She had started campaign to educated her neighbours on the importance of saving the environment at tender age of eight.
  • She had brought together children to collect and recycle waste and also plant trees.
  • She had founded her environmental organisation Green Hope based in the United Arab Emirates at the age of twelve.
  • Through it, she has initiated countless cleanup operations and awareness campaigns. Now the organisation has more than 1,000 volunteers in 10 countries around the world.
  • The organisation has successfully implemented environmental projects, including planting 5,000 trees in Colombia, Mexico, France, Nepal, Oman and the United States.

About International Children’s Peace Prize

  • It is awarded annually to a child who has made a significant contribution to advocating children’s rights and improving the situation of vulnerable children.
  • It carries monetary award 100,000 euro ($106,000) investment for projects in the winner’s home country.
  • The prize was launched in 2005 by Marc Dullaert, Chairman and Founder of the Amsterdam-based children’s rights organization, KidsRights.
  • In 2006, India’s Om Prakash Gurjar was given this award for setting up network of child friendly villages to give all children a birth certificate to protect them from exploitation.


President presents 2nd ICCR Indologist award to Prof. Yu Long Yu

The second Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) Indologis Award for the year 2016 was awarded to Prof. Yu Long Yu of China.

He was presented with this award by President Pranab Mukherjee at a function in Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.

About Prof. Yu Long Yu

  • He is Professor and Director at the Centre for Indian Studies, Shenzhen University. He has studied Indology for half a century and is the pioneer for Indology in South China.
  • He has set up the Centre for Indian Studies and Tan Yunshan Sino-Indian Friendship Museum in Shenzhen University.

About ICCR Indologist Award

  • It is an annual award instituted by ICCR. It carries prize amount of US$ 20000.
  • It is bestowed upon eminent Indologists working abroad who have made outstanding contribution to the study/research/teaching of India’s history, philosophy, thought, art, culture, literature, languages, civilization, society etc.
  • The first award was presented to Prof. Heinrich Freiherr Von Stietencron of Germany in 2015.