Awards Current Affairs 2017

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Adman Srinivasan Swamy conferred with AAAI Lifetime Achievement Award

The Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI) conferred its Lifetime Achievement Award on famous adman Srinivasan K.Swamy.

Mr. Swamy is popularly known as Sundar. He is a veteran in the advertising industry and has almost four decades of rich experience.

About Srinivasan K.Swamy

  • Swamy is Chairman of R.K. Swamy Hansa, a diversified marketing communications group.
  • He has served as the President of AAAI for three consecutive terms from 2004 to 2007.
  • He is also the Vice Chairman of the Advertising Standards Council of India (ASCI) and a Board Member of the Audit Bureau of Circulations.

AAAI’s Lifetime Award: It was instituted in 1988. It is the highest recognition bestowed on an individual in India for outstanding contribution to the advertising industry.

About Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI)

  • AAAI is the official, national organisation of advertising agencies to promote their interests. It was formed in 1945.
  • It promotes professionalism, through its founding principles, which uphold sound business practices between Advertisers and Advertising Agencies and the various media.
  • AAAI is representative body of very large number of small, medium and large-sized agencies that together account for almost 80% of the advertising business in the country.
  • It is recognised as the apex body for the Advertising industry at all forums – Advertisers and Media owners and their associations and Government.


Bezwada Wilson, TM Krishna win Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016

Two Indians, social activist Bezwada Wilson and musician TM Krishna, have won the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016.

They are among the total six awardees selected for the 2016 Ramon Magsaysay Award, often regarded as Asia’s Nobel Prize.

The 6 awardees are

  • Bezwada Wilson (India): He has been recognized for asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity. He is the National Convener of the Safai Karmachari Andolan (SKA). He has done remarkable work in liberating scores of people engaged in manual scavenging across the country.
  • Thodur Madabusi Krishna (India): He has been recognized for ensuring social inclusiveness in culture. He is a Carnatic music vocalist.
  • Conchita Carpio Morales (Philippines): She has been recognized for restoring faith in the rule of law.
  • Dompet Dhuafa (Indonesia): She has been recognized for expanding the transformative impact of zakat.
  • Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers (Japan): The organisation has been recognized for building a world of genuine solidarity.
  • Vientiane Rescue (Laos): The organisation has been recognized for volunteering to save lives at risk.

They will be bestowed with this award at the awarding ceremony scheduled to be held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines in Pasay City on August 31, 2015 i.e. on the birth anniversary of former Filipino President Ramon Magsaysay.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award

  • Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honour and is often regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.
  • It was established in 1957 in the memory of Philippines’ 3rd President Ramon Magsaysay who had died in air disaster in March 1957.
  • It was established by trustees of the New York City based Rockefeller Brothers Fund and Philippine government.
  • It is awarded annually to individuals or organizations from Asia region for their altruistic and philanthropic service.
  • The award carries a Medallion bearing the likeness of the late President Ramon Magsaysay, cash prize and a certificate.


Violinist A Kanyakumari, first female violinist to get Sangita Kalanidhi Award

Renowned violinist Avasarala Kanyakumari from south India was selected for the prestigious 2016 Sangita Kalanidhi Award.

With this, she becomes first female violinist chosen in the history of this prestigious award. She will be bestowed with the award on January 1, 2017.

She will also preside over the 90th annual conference of the Music Academy scheduled from December 15, 2016 to January 1, 2017.

So far eight male violinists have been bestowed with this award. They are M. Chandrasekaran (2005), M. S. Gopalakrishnan (1997), Papa KS Venkataramiah (1962), TK Jayarama Iyer (1960), T. Chowdiah (1957), Marungapuri Gopalakrishna Iyer (1955), Karur Chinnaswamy Iyer (1950) and Kumbakonam Rajamanickam Pillai (1948).

About Avasarala Kanyakumari

  • She is a violinist from South India and specializes in Carnatic music.
  • She is native of Vijayanagaram in Andhra Pradesh and has an experience of over 50 years as an accompanist, soloist and teacher.
  • She has created seven ragas under the title Saptadri , seven names of Lord Venkateswara of Tirupati, Mahalakshmi, Tirumurti and Bharat.
  • Awards and Honours: Padma Shri (2015), Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (2003).

About Sangita Kalanidhi award/title

  • Sangita Kalanidhi award/title is a prestigious award bestowed annually upon an expert of Carnatic Music by the Madras Music Academy.
  • The award’s name has been derived from Sanskrit which means treasure of Music and art in English. This honour is considered one of the highest awards in Carnatic music.