Awards Current Affairs 2017

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

64th National Film Awards

The 64th National Film Awards for year 2016 were announced on 07 April 2017.  Marathi film Kasaav won the award in the Best Feature Film category and Fireflies in the Abyss won in the Non-Feature Film Category.

Telugu drama film Sathamanam Bhavathi directed by Satish Vegesna was selected as the Best Popular film providing wholesome entertainment.


Over 300 films vied for the honours this year. The winners in feature films category were chosen by jury headed by Filmmaker Priyadarshan and winners in non-feature category were chosen by jury headed nationally acclaimed cinematographer and writer Raju Misra.

The 64th National Film Awards in the various categories are as follows
  • Best Feature Film: Kasaav (Marathi).
  • Non-Feature Film: Fireflies in the Abyss.
  • Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Sathamanam Bhavathi
  • Best Direction: Rajesh (Ventilator)
  • Best Actor: Akhay Kumar (Rustom)
  • Best Actress: Surabhi Lakshmi (Minnaminungu)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim (Dangal)
  • Best Child Artist: Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)
  • Best stunt choreography: Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)
  • Best Children’s Film: Dhanak (Hindi)
  • Best Film on social issue: Pink
  • Best Male Playback Singer: Sundara Iyer (Joker)
  • Best Female Playback Singer: Thume jaake
  • Best Screenplay (original): Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaram)
  • Best Screenplay (adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji patel (Dashakriya)
  • Best Editing: Rameshwar Ventilator
  • Sound designer: Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookunna Neram)
  • Best production design: 24
  • Best Costume Designer: Sachin (Marathi film)
  • Best Environmental film including agriculture: The Tiger who crossed the line
  • Best Make-up Artist: MK Ramakrishna
  • Best Music Direction: Babu Padmanabha (Kannada Lama)
  • Special Mention: Kadvi Hawa (Hindi), Mukthi Bhavan (Hindi), Majirathi Keki (Assamese), Sonam Kapoor (Neerja).
  • Special Jury award: Mohanlal( Pulimurugan), Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol.
  • Best feature films in regional languages: Madipur (Tulu), Joker (Tamil), Wrongside Raju (Gujarati), Pelli Chupulu (Telugu), Dashakriya (Marathi), Bisarjan’ (Bengali), Maheshinte Prathikaram (Malayalam), Ke Sara Sara (Konkini), Reservation (Kannada) and Neerja (Hindi).

About National Film Awards

  • The National Film Awards are most prominent film award ceremonies in India. It was established in 1954. Since then awarded annually.
  • Winners in different categories of these awards are selected by the national panel of Juries appointed by Union Government. These awards are presented by the President of India in the official ceremony.


Dawit Isaak selected for 2017 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

Dawit Isaak, an imprisoned Eritrean-Swedish journalist was awarded the 2017 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

He will be bestowed with this prestigious award in recognition of his courage, resistance and commitment to freedom of expression. He will be awarded on World Press Freedom Day (3 May 2017).

About Dawit Isaak

  • Dawit Isaak is a Swedish-Eritrean playwright, journalist and writer. He was born on 28 October 1964.
  • He had moved to Sweden in 1987, where he later became a citizen and went into self-imposed exile.
  • He had returned to Eritrea after its independence and became one of the founders and reporters of Setit, the first independent newspaper in the country.
  • Eritrean government has held him in prison in Eritrea since 2001 without trial and considered him a traitor. He journalist was arrested in a crackdown on the media. His present location is unknown.

About UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

  • The award was established in 1997 by UNESCO’s Executive Board in honour of Colombian journalist Guillermo Cano Isaza.
  • It honours a person, organization or institution for their outstanding contribution to the defence and promotion of freedom of press anywhere in the world, especially achieved in the face of danger.
  • The award carries cash prize of $25000. It is funded by Colombia based Cano Foundation and Finland based Helsingin Sanomat Foundation.

Guillermo Cano Isaza: He was a Colombian journalist who was assassinated on 17 December 1986 in front of the offices of his newspaper, El Espectador in Bogota.


French mathematician Yves Meyer wins 2017 Abel Prize

French mathematician Yves Meyer has won the prestigious 2017 Abel Prize for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets (small waves or ripples).

His theory is used for applications ranging from image compression to the detection of gravitational waves from the merging of black holes. It also allowed scientists to create unique wavelet transforms suited to specific signals.

About Abel Prize

  • It is awarded annually by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters to one or more outstanding mathematicians. It is named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel.
  • The award was established by the Government of Norway in 2001. It is described as the mathematician’s Nobel Prize and is one of the world’s top prizes in mathematics
  • It carries monetary award of 6 million Norwegian kroner (NOK) (around 600,000 Euros).
  • Indian American mathematician R. Srinivasa Varadhan was bestowed with this award in 2007 for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and for creating a unified theory of large deviation.

About Wavelets

Wavelets are widely used in signal processing, including in compressing certain formats of JPEG images. They are like their more famous cousins Fourier transforms. They are particularly useful when the goal is to discard some extraneous information (such as low-frequency noise from the universe) while keeping the important signal.