Science and Technology

DRDO successfully tests advance EW suite in Tejas-PV1 Aircraft

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has successfully tested an advanced electronic warfare (EW) suite.

It was tested onboard of the country’s Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Tejas-PV1.

Key facts about Electronic Warfare (EW) suite

  • It is developed by Defence Avionics Research Establishment (DARE) of DRDO.
  • EW suite consists of Radar Warner and Jammer.
  • This suit gives pilot an additional capability of nullifying the effect of detected radar threat by appropriate mode of jamming.
  • It will replace existing EW systems, which are fitted on various combat aircraft as they consist of basic equipment – Radar Warner Receiver. It only has capability to provide warning to the aircraft pilot in case of detection of a radar threat.


Union Government unblocks 32 websites

Union Government has unblocked 32 websites which were blocked earlier in November 2014.

These websites were unblocked after they had promised to cooperate with the authorities and remove objectionable content.

They were blocked for carrying anti-India views and spreading banned terrorist outfit Islamic State of Iraq and Syria’s (ISIS) propaganda.


Earlier in November 2014, these websites were blocked following complaint of Maharashtra Anti-Terrorism Squad (ATS).

They were blocked by Department of Telecom (DoT) under Section 69 of the Information Technology Act, 2000 and Information Technology (Procedure and Safeguards for Blocking for Access of Information by Public) Rules, 2009.

These rules give powers to government to block access to information on websites if it threatens the interest of

  • Sovereignty and integrity of the country.
  • Defence of India.
  • Security of the state.
  • Friendly relations with foreign states or public order.
  • For preventing incitement to the commission of any cognizable offence.


NASA’s Kepler Telescope achieves big milestone with 1,000th exoplanet discovery

NASA’s Kepler Space Telescope has achieved a big milestone after it had discovered 1000 exoplanet.

In order to achieve this milestone, planet hunting telescope had continuously monitored more than 150,000 stars beyond our solar system.

It has offered scientists an assortment of more than 4,000 candidate planets for further study and recently, 1,000 exoplanet was verified among these monitored stars.

Key facts

  • Using Kepler’s data, scientists have reached this millenary milestone after validating 8 more planet candidates that were spotted by the telescope.
  • Kepler team also has added another 554 candidates to the roll of potential planets. Among them 6 are near-Earth-size and orbit in the habitable zone of stars similar to our Sun.
  • As per Kepler team, 3 of the newly-validated planets are located in their distant suns habitable zone. They are in the range of distances from the host star where liquid water might exist on the surface of an orbiting planet.
  • Of the three planets, two are likely made of rock like Earth. They were named as Kepler-438b and Kepler-442b.
  • Both Kepler-438b and Kepler-442b orbit stars smaller and cooler than our Sun. Thus making the habitable zone closer to their parent star, in the direction of the constellation Lyra.

Exoplanet: It is is a planet that does not orbit the Sun and instead orbits a different star, stellar remnant, or brown dwarf. It is also termed as extrasolar planet.