Abhijeet Gupta wins 19th Commonwealth Chess Championship

Former world junior champion and Grandmaster Abhijeet Gupta won the 19th Commonwealth Chess Championship.

He won the gold medal after settling for a quick draw with his opponent Arghyadip Das in the ninth and final round played at Mumbai, Maharashtra.

In this Chess Championship, Arghyadip Das came second winning the silver medal and M R Lalith Babu won the bronze medal in men’s section.

In the women’s section, Padmini Rout won the gold medal. While S Vijayalakshmi and S Meenakshi won silver and bronze medal respectively. In this championship both Vijayalakshmi and Meenakshi had won the last six games.


Jwala Gutta, Ashwni Ponappa win women’s doubles title of Canada Open Badminton tournament

Indian pair of Jwala Gutta and Ashwni Ponappa won the women’s doubles title of the Canada Open Badminton tournament.

In the finals match played at Calgary, Canada they defeated Dutch pair of Eefje Muskens and Selena Piek in straight games of 21-19, 21-16. It is their first title of this season.

Men’s Single title: Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia won the men’s single title, by defeating Ng Ka Long Angus of Hong Kong by 17-21 13-21 score in the final match.

Women’s Single title: Michelle Li of Canada won the women’s single title, by defeating Kaori Imabeppu of Japan by 21-17 25-23 score in the final match.

Mixed doubles title: It was won by Chinese pair Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen. In the final match, they defeated Chinese pair Kaixiang Huang and Sijie Wang by 17-21 21-12 21-18 score.


Satnam Singh Bhamara becomes first Indian to be drafted by a NBA team

Satnam Singh Bhamara became the first Indian born basketball player to be drafted in the National Basketball Association (NBA).

He was chosen by the Dallas Mavericks team as the 52nd pick in the NBA Draft. He was selected amongst the 60 young men who will play in the next season of NBA.

About Satnam Singh Bhamara

  • Born: 10 December 1995.
  • The 19-year-old Satnam hails from a small village Ballo Ke in Barnala district of Punjab. He stands 7 feet 2 inches tall and comes from a farmer’s family.
  • Prior to this selection he was going training at IMG Academy at Florida, US and was coached by Scott Fleming. He had played for the IMG Academy graduate team during the season 2014–15.
  • He was undergoing training in the US since September 2010 as part of a scholarship program between IMG and Reliance.
  • Earlier in 2011, Singh had represented the India national basketball team at the FIBA Asia Championship. He also had represented India at the 2013 FIBA Asia Championship.

It should be noted that Canada born Sim Bhullar was the first Indian origin player to play in NBA. He had briefly featured for the Sacremento Kings in the 2014 season of NBA.