Persons in News 2017

Enter your Email address to receive updates in your inbox

Sanjiv Goenka named as IIT-Kharagpur chairman

RP Sanjiv Goenka Group Chairman, Sanjiv Goenka, has been named as the Chairman of the Board of Governors at IIT-Kharagpur. He will serve as the Chairman for three years.

Salient Facts

Sanjiv Goenka was nominated by the President, Pranab Mukherjee, in his capacity as Visitor of the Institute.

With this appointment, Sanjiv Goenka will serve his second term as the Chairman of Board of Governors at the IIT-KGP. He held his previous stint between 2002 and 2007.

Previously, Sanjiv Goenka had served as a member of the Prime Minister’s Council on Trade & Industry; and also on several academic institutions as member and chair of its Governing bodies.


The Board of Governors is the highest administrative body of the IIT-KGP. The board comprises of the eminent panel of members including Arundhati Bhattacharya, Chairperson, State Bank of India; Sudha N Murty, Chairperson, Infosys Foundation; N Balakrishnan, IISc Bangalore and Jai Pal Mittal, M N Saha Distinguished Professor (NASI).

PP Chakrabarti, Director at IIT Kharagpur and Pradip Pyne, Registrar are Ex-Officio Members. Dipanwita Roy Chowdhury and Manoj K Tiwari, who all are the institutional representatives serve as Senate representatives of the Institute.

IIT-KGP, which is recognized as an Institute of National Importance was established in 1951 by the Government of India. It was the first IIT to be established in the country.


Sanjay Kumar appointed new NDRF Chief

Senior IPS officer Sanjay Kumar was appointed as Director General (DG) of National Disaster Response Force (NDRF). He will succeed R K Pachnanda who was has taken charge as DG the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).

Sanjay Kumar is a 1985-batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of Himachal Pradesh cadre. Prior to this appointment, he was director general of police (DGP) in Himachal Pradesh. 

About National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)

NDRF is India’s elite disaster mitigation combat force established under The Disaster Management Act, 2005. It was established in 2006 and is headquartered in New Delhi. It functions under Union Ministry of Home Affairs.

It is mandated to undertake special disaster response, relief, rescue operations and combat roles independently in the case of an event of any disaster (natural or man-made), accident or emergency. It also assists local authorities in launching a quick rescue and response operation to save life and property. It is assisted by 12 battalions with strength of over 13,000 personnel positioned in various states of country.