Persons in News 2017

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Rakesh Jhunjhunwala: India’s Warren Buffet

Rakesh Jhunjhunwala

  • imageIndian investor and trader
  • A qualified Chartered accountant
  • Owner of Rare Enterprises
  • Chairman of Aptech Limited and Hungama Digital Media Entertainment Pvt. Ltd
  • Net worth: USD 1.25 billion (as of 2011)
  • Started his career in 1985 when the BSE Sensex was at 150.
  • He is regarded as one of the best Investors in the world and is famous as “India’s Warren Buffet”.


Dr Ami Bera: 3rd Indian-American elected to Congress

Dr. Ami Bera

  • imageIndian-American physician from California
  • Won the Congressional election from California
  • 3rd person of Indian-origin to be elected to the US House of Representatives
  • Other Indian-Americans elected in Congress in past:
  1. Dalip Singh Saund was the 1st Indian-American elected to the House in 1950s.
  2. Bobby Jindal: 2nd Indian-American to be elected. He was elected in 2005 and 2008. He is now the Governor of Louisiana.


K.C.Pant passes away

imageIndia’s former defence minister and Planning Commission deputy chairman Krishna Chandra Pant (81) passed away.

  • Pant was India’s defence minister between 1987 and 1989, when the Congress party was in power under then prime minister Rajiv Gandhi. Pant was Defence Minister in Rajiv Gandhi’s Cabinet when the CAG report on Bofors Howitzer acquisition was tabled in Parliament and defended the government during those troubled days.
  • Pant became Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission in 2000.
  • Pant was also the Chairman of 10th Finance Commission.