Science and Technology Current Affairs – 2017

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Sunita Williams back to Earth

Indian- American Sunita Williams spending four-months in orbit, returned back to Earth

The Soyuz TMA-05M capsule, carrying Japanese astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko and US astronaut Sunita Williams, landed at the Kazakhstan space station at 7.50 am IST.

Williams now has spent a total of 322 days in space during her two missions.


Flipora: Social Surfing service


  • A Social Surfing service
  • imageA Personalized Search (webpage recommendation) and Discovery engine
  • Made by Infoaxe Inc.
  • Formerly called InfoAxe, Flipora grew from a service that helped users simply find sites they’ve already visited.
  • Flipora helps user remember the great websites (s)he visits (with web history search) and recommends great websites based on what user liked in the past.
  • It aims at helping internet users find interesting web-pages on the topics that they like.
  • It provides significant social surfing recommendations to help users discover and enjoy new web content and sites.
  • Flipora currently has 8 million users.

Flipora’s Indian Connection:

  • Founded by two Indian graduates from Stanford University.
  • Jonathan Siddharth and Vijay Krishnan

How does Flipora work? … Negative side of Flipora…

read more..


What is e-tailing ?

e-tailing = electronic retailing

  • selling of retail goods on the Internet.
  • e-tailing or "virtual storefronts" on Web sites with online catalogs, sometimes gathered into a "virtual mall"
  • Online shopping or online retailing is a form of electronic commerce
  • Consumers directly buy goods or services from a seller over the Internet without an intermediary service.
  • The largest online retailing corporations are E-Bay and, both of which are US-based.


  • e-tailing has resulted in the development of software tools for creating online catalogs and managing the business connected with doing e-tailing. These are known as e-tailware.

e-commerce (electronic commerce or EC)

read more..