China Current Affairs - Current Affairs Today


China launches new Yaogan-23 remote sensing satellite


China has launched remote sensing satellite Yaogan-23 from Taiyuan Satellite Launch Centre. It was carried by a Long March-2C rocket, marking the 198th mission for the Long March rocket family.

It was also the 49th successful orbital launch from the Taiyuan Satellite launch Center, the 4th launch from this space center in 2014 and the 10th orbital launch for China this year.

Yaogan-23 satellite will mainly be used for scientific experiments, natural resource surveys, crop yield estimates and disaster relief.

Yaogan Satellite series

  • In 2006, China launched the first satellite in the Yaogan series that is Yaogan-1.
  • In future, China planned to launch about 70 remote sensing satellites to detect the near-Earth space environment and predict extreme events.
  • China will also launch about 20 communication satellites to meet communication demand in national security and public services.
  • Besides, China will launch about 30 navigation satellites to provide accurate and reliable global positioning and navigation services.

China pledges $40 billion for Silk Road plan


On 8th November 2014, Chinese President Xi Jinping committed $40 billion to give a push for reviving the ancient Silk Road of China and break the connectivity bottleneck in Asia. This sum was announced at a summit attended by leaders of neighboring countries of Bangladesh, Cambodia, Laos, Mongolia, Myanmar, Pakistan and Tajikistan.

The summit was hosted by China in order to strengthen its connectivity and improve cooperation neighbouring country and firming up support for its mega 21st Century Silk Road Economic Belt and the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB).

Key facts: 

  • Silk Road Fund will be open and welcome investors from Asia and beyond to actively take part in the project.
  • The neighbouring countries must strengthen connectivity and boost cooperation.
  • China’s plans to build the 21st Century Silk Road Economic Belt and the Maritime Silk Road besides Beijing’s push for creation of the AIIB.
  • Representatives of the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific and the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation also took part in the event.

The summit was organised ahead of the 10th November 2014 meeting of Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) leaders.

Chinese President had invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi to attend the summit during their first meeting in Brazil. However, Indian PM could not make it to the summit due to his commitments to attend next week’s East Asia Summit in Myanmar followed by G-20 leaders meeting in Australia.

About Silk Road

The idea of re-establishment of maritime Silk Road was proposed by Chinese President Xi Jinping in 2013. The main aim is China is to gain easier access to global markets. The plan incorporates both a land route and a sea route. The land-based Silk Road is expected to start at Xi’an, the capital of Shaanxi province, located in northwest China, eventually heading southwest across Central Asia, the Middle East and Europe. The Maritime Silk Road is planned to start near Guangdong on the South China Sea and move to the Malacca Strait and the Indian Ocean. From there it will traverse the Horn of Africa, heading into the Red Sea and Mediterranean. The project shows China’s newfound desire to invest in projects outside of mainland China.

APJ Abdul Kalam is honorary professor in top Chinese University


Former President of India Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam was formally conferred the title of Honorary Professor by the Peking University, one of the oldest Chinese universities.

On 5th November 2014, President of the University Enge Wang presented the Honorary Professor certificate to Kalam. The ceremony was also attended by Indian Ambassador Ashok K Kantha and other officials.

Then he delivered lecture on ‘sustainable development system and creative leadership’ to a group of students drawn from different disciplines of the university.

He was formally invited to teach at the University by its Chairman Zhu Shanlu when he visited China for the first time in 2012.

Key facts of Lecture

  • He called for Sino-Indian joint space collaboration and interface between universities of the two countries on development themes.
  • He mentioned that if universities of the world work together, it will be a major factor in better understanding of the different cultures and contribute significantly to the peace and prosperity of the world.
  • China and India should have research and academic interfaces in development themes in order to address the development challenges.
  • Both countries should jointly take up the challenge to build satellites that could generate round-the-clock solar power and connect the world with clean power.

Dr. Kalam will address two more classes in the university, on sustainable model for rural development and harnessing space and solar power.