Union Cabinet approves revival of the Sindri unit of the Fertilizer Corporation India

Union Cabinet has approved the revival of closed urea unit of Fertilizer Corporation India Limited (FICL) at Sindri in Jharkhand with an investment of 6000 crore rupees.

Decision in this regard was taken at Union Cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi.

FICL’s Sindri unit was lying defunct and was not in operation along with its associated facilities since 2002.

Union government has taken this decision in order to meet the growing demand of urea in eastern states of India including Bihar, West Bengal and Jharkhand.

Starting this plant will also ease the pressure on railway and road infrastructure due to transportation of urea on long distance from Western and Central Regions. This unit will also create 500 direct and 3000 indirect employments in this region.

Apart from this decision, Union Cabinet also gave its nod for setting up of a new ammonia-urea complex at Namrup in Assam on Public Private Partnership (PPP) mode with an estimated investment of 4500 crore rupees.

This approved complex will have an annual capacity of 8.64 lakh metric tonnes and play key role in meeting the growing demand of urea in North-East, Bihar, West Bengal and Jharkhand. It will also accelerate the economic development of the region and open new avenues for the people of the North-East.


Draupadi Murmu sworn in as first woman Governor of Jharkhand

Ms. Draupadi Murmu was sworn in as the first woman and overall ninth Governor of Jharkhand since the state was granted statehood status after bifurcating from Bihar on 15 November 2000.

Jharkhand High Court Chief Justice Virendra Singh administered oath of office under the provisions of Article 159 of Constitution to her.

She succeeds Syed Ahmed who was recently transferred as Governor of Manipur by President Pranab Mukherjee.

About Draupadi Murmu

  • Draupadi Murmu is two-time Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA from Odisha Assembly and had represented Rairangpur.
  • She had served as Cabinet Minister in the Naveen Patnaik led coalition government of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and BJP.
  • She was the Minister of State (MoS) with independent charge for Commerce and Transport from March 2000 to August 2002.
  • She also was MoS for Fisheries and Animal Resources Development from August 2002 to May 2004.

With this, Draupadi Murmu also became the first woman and tribal leader from Odisha to be appointed as a Governor in an Indian State.


President Pranab Mukherjee appoints new Governors in six states

President Pranab Mukherjee on 12 May 2015 appointed Governors in six states. Their appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge.

Following are newly appointed Governors

Jharkhand: Former Odisha Minister Droupadi Murmu was appointed as Governor of Jharkhand. She will replace Dr Syed Ahmed.

Manipur: Dr Syed Ahmed has been transfered to Manipur for remaining period of his term.

Arunachal Pradesh: J P Rajkhowa was appointed as Governor of Arunachal Pradesh. He will replace Lt. General (Retd.) Nirbhay Sharma.

Mizoram: Lt. General (Retd.) Nirbhay Sharma has been transferred and appointed as Governor of Mizoram for the remainder of his term.

Tripura: Tathagata Roy will be the Governor of Tripura.

Meghalaya:  V. Shanmuganthan has been appointed as Meghalaya Governor.

Constitutional provisions of Governor

  • Article 153: It says that there shall be Governor for each state. But 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 facilitated the appointment of the same person as a governor for two or more states.
  • Article 156: Governor is appointed by President and hold office during the pleasure of President. It should be also noted that this article also mentions tenure of Governor. In this regard it says that Governor shall hold office for the term of 5 years from date he enters upon his office.