Former CM of Mizoram Brigadier (Retd) Thenphunga Sailo passes away

Former Chief Minister (CM) of Mizoram Brigadier (Retd) Thenphunga Sailo passed away on 27 March 2015 in Aizawl, Mizoram.

Apart from being CM, he was also one of the prominent voices against the human rights violation by the armed forces’ in 1970s in the insurgency-hit Mizo hills.

About Thenphunga Sailo

  • Sailo was born on 1 January 1922.
  • Army career- He had joined the British Indian army in 1942 as a junior officer and had rose to the rank of Brigadier in 1966.
  • He had fought the Second World War for the British and was first Indian Army officer from the Mizo community.
  • Political career- In 1975 he had started the People’s Conference Party (now Mizoram People’s Conference).
  • In 1977, he became the second Chief Minister of Mizoram while state was Union Territory and had served CM for two terms.
  • For first times he was CM for six months in 1978 and later for full five year term from 1979 to 1984.
  • He had retired from politics in July 2014.
  • Awards- He was awarded the prestigious military award AVSM during his service in the army. In 1999, he was awarded the Padmashree for his contributions to Mizo society.


Aziz Qureshi sworn in as Governor of Mizoram

Aziz Qureshi has sworn-in as the Governor of Mizoram. Justice Michael Zothankhuma, Judge of the Gauhati High Court, administered the oath of office to Qureshi.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Durbar Hall of the Raj Bhavan in Aizawl. It was attended by the s Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla and some of his cabinet colleagues.

Earlier Aziz Qureshi was governor of Uttarakhand. But in December 2014, he was transferred from Uttarakhand and was appointed as the Mizoram Governor.

Constitutional provisions of Governor

  • Article 153: It says that there shall be Governor for each state. But 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 facilitated the appointment of the same person as a governor for two or more states.
  • Article 156: Governor is appointed by President and hold office during the pleasure of President. It should be also noted that this article also mentions tenure of Governor. In this regard it says that Governor shall hold office for the term of 5 years from date he enters office.


Sikkim becomes most favoured destination of foreign tourists in northeast India

Foreign tourists visiting the north-eastern (NE) states of India are choosing Sikkim as their most favored destination in NE region of the country.

As per figures released by the Tourism Ministry, while the state received 23,602 tourists in 2011, it was 26,489 in 2012 and 31,698 in 2013 respectively. Sikkim is followed by Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura respectively.