Sports Current Affairs - Current Affairs Today


Boxer Manoj Kumar receives prestigious Arjuna Award


Boxer Manoj Kumar was awarded prestigious Arjuna Award by Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal in New Delhi. He was awarded this award after winning a High Court case against Sports ministry. Manoj Kumar is 2010 Commonwealth Games gold medalist.


Earlier, Kapil Dev-led award selection committee had denied Manoj this award, due false belief that he was involved in a doping case.  Instead of Manoj, the committee had recommended name of another boxer Jai Bhagwan for this award.

After this denial, Manoj had approached the Sports Ministry who had assured him that his name would be added to the list in a review meeting. But he was again sidelined by the Sports Ministry.

After he was sidelined, he took the legal route and filed a case in the Delhi High Court against the ministry. He won this case and that led to the ministry accepting his nomination for the award.

About Arjuna Award

  • The Arjuna Awards are given by the Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to sportsperson for their recognition and outstanding achievement in National sports. It was instituted in 1961.
  • The award carries a monetary prize of Rs. 500,000, a bronze statuette of Arjuna and a scroll.
  • From the year 2001, the award is given only in disciplines falling under the following categories:
  1. Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket.
  2. Indigenous Games.
  3. Physically Challenged Sports.

Sarjubala Devi gets Silver medal in World Women’s Boxing Championships


Indian Women Boxer, Sarjubala Devi has won Silver medal in the World Women’s Boxing Championships held in Jeju City, Korea.   In the final match of the 48kg division, she lost to Nazym Kyzaibay of Kazakhstan by 0-3.

About Sarjubala Devi

  • Sarjubala Devi is from  Manipur. She was born in farmer’s family.
  • In 2005, she started her boxing career after getting inspired from the success stories of famous Indian boxer Mary Kom.
  • She joined boxing at school in 2005. In 2007 she joined a Sports Authority of India (SAI) training centre for boxing in Imphal, India.
  • In 2011, she won gold medal in Youth World Women Boxing Championship organised in Turkey.
  • She also has won medals in Sub-Junior, Junior Women National Championships and National Boxing Championships.
  • In 2012, Olympic Gold Quest (OGQ) had announced to support her to prepare for 2016 Olympics as she isexpected to be serious medal prospect.

Magnus Carlsen defeats Anand: Retains World Championship


Norway’s Magnus Carlsen retained his title of World chess champion by defeating Indian opponent Viswanathan Anand in the 11th round of their title match held in Sochi, Russia.

Carlsen scored 6.5 points after the final match to retain the title by defeating his challenger Viswanathan Anand who had held this championship title from 2007 to 2013.

About Magnus Carlsen

  • Magnus Carlsen is a Norwegian chess grandmaster, No. 1 ranked player in the world and reigning World Chess Champion in classical, rapid, and blitz.
  • His peak rating is 2882, the highest in history.
  • He became Grandmaster in 2004, at the age of 13 years, 148 days, making him at that time the second youngest grandmaster in history, although he has since become the third youngest.
  • On 1st January 2010, at the age of 19 years, 32 days, he was the youngest chess player in history to be ranked world No. 1.
  • In 2013, he was named in the Time magazine list of the 100 most influential people in the world in 2013.