Tamil Nadu Current Affairs

J Jayalalithaa sworn-in as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for sixth time

Ms. J Jayalalithaa has sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for record sixth time after winning 2016 state assembly election with absolute majority.

State Governor Dr.K. Rosaiah administered the oath of office and secrecy to her at oath taking ceremony held at the Centenary Auditorium, Madras University. Besides, Governor also administered oath of office and secrecy to the 28 ministers of her government.

This is J Jayalalithaa’s second consecutive term as chief minister and sixth overall. She is the second female Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu after Janaki Ramachandran.

About J Jayalalithaa

  • J Jayalalithaa was born on 24 February 1948 in Mandya in then Mysore State (now in Karnataka).
  • She was an actress before entering into active politics and appeared in 140 films which include Tamil, Telugu, and Kannada films.
  • She was a leading actress in films from 1961 to 1980 and was famously considered as one of the most prolific and most versatile actress.
  • She was also known for her dancing skills and was often referred as the uncrowned queen of Tamil cinema.
  • Previously, she served as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu from 1991 to 1996 (1st time), in 2001 (2nd time), from 2002 to 2006 (3rd time), from 2011 to 2014 (4th time) and 2015 to 2016 (5th time).


Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2016 Results

Ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) Party under the leadership of Chief Minister J. Jayalalitha has emerged victorious in the 2016 Tamil Nadu Assembly Election.

AIADMK Party emerged victorious by winning 134 seats (38.4% votes) out of 234 seats of the Legislative Assembly in the state. The opposition Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has won 89 seats (35.6% votes) while Indian National Congress (INC) won 8 seats.

With this victory, AIADMK Chief J. Jayalalitha became the first Chief Minister in 32 years to be voted back to power. She won from Dr. RK Nagar constituency in Chennai.

DMK Patriarch M. Karunanidhi has won for a record 13th time (since 1956) from his home turf of Tiruvarur.


The election for fifteenth Assembly of Tamil Nadu was held in single phase on 16 May 2016 for the 234 seats.


Tamil Comedy Actor Kumarimuthu passes away

Legendary Tamil Comedian Kumarimuthu passed away in Chennai, Tamil Nadu due to some age-related ailments. He was 77.

He was known for his comic roles and had starred in nearly 50 films in his career spanning over three-decades. He was best known for his signature laugh.

His debut film was Nandu in 1981. Some of his other best films are Sahadevan Mahadevan, Idhu Namma Aalu, Marumagan and Oru Oorla Oru Rajakumari.

He was also associated with Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) Party in his brief stint in politics.