Uttar Pradesh Current Affairs - Current Affairs Today

Uttar Pradesh

President appoints new Governors to five states

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee appointed Governors of five states, namely Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Gujarat and Nagaland.

Given below is the list of Governors and their respective state of appointment:

  • Keshari Nath Tripathi: Governor of West Bengal
  • Balramji Dass Tandon: Governor of Chhattisgarh
  • Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya: Governor of both Nagaland and Tripura
  • Ram Naik: Governor of Uttar Pradesh
  • Om Prakash Kohli: Governor of Gujarat

UP Govt increased retirement age of State Election Commissioner to 68 years

The Uttar Pradesh Government enhanced the retirement age of State Election Commissioner (SEC) from 65 to 68 years.

The UP government amended the UP State Election Commission (Panchayat and Local bodies) (services and conditions of services) Rules 1994 to increase the term of the SEC up to either 68 years of age or 6-year tenure. Earlier the term of SEC was of 5 years.

State Election Commissioner

73rd and 74th Amendment Act of 1992 of the Constitution of India provide for the formation of State Election Commissions.

These Amendment Act introduced Article 243K and Article 243ZA in the Constitution of India. As per these two Articles, superintendence, direction, control and preparation of electoral rolls for conducting all elections to Panchayat Raj bodies and Municipal bodies in the State are vested in a State Election Commission which comprises a State Election Commissioner to be appointed by the Governor.

The powers and functions of the SEC are similar to those vested in the Election Commission of India constituted under Article 324 of the Constitution of India in their respective field.

India extends ban on import of milk items from China till June 2015

The Indian government extended the ban on imports of milk and its products from China till June 2015. With this the ban on import of milk and milk products (including chocolates and chocolate products and candies/ confectionery/ food preparations with milk or milk solids as an ingredient) from China is extended for one more year.

The ban, first imposed in September 2008 due to presence of melamine, used for making plastics and fertilizer, was to expire on June 23, 2014. Though India does not import milk products from China but the ban has been imposed as a preventive measure.

India is the world’s largest producer and consumer of milk. Milk production in India is estimated to have increased by 6% to about 140 million tonnes in 2013-14 from 132.4 million tonnes during the fiscal 2012-13.

Uttar Pradesh is the largest producer of milk in India, followed by Rajasthan and Gujarat. The per capita consumption was highest in Punjab followed by Haryana in fiscal 2013-14.

June 23: World observes International Widows day

International Widows Day was observed across the world on June 23.

The Day aims to draw people’s attention towards the condition of widows of all ages and across regions and cultures.

Abuse of widows and their children has become one of the most serious violations of human rights and hampers development. Millions of the widows across the globe are struggling with the problems of extreme poverty, ostracism, violence, homelessness, ill health and discrimination in law and custom.

As per estimates, around 115 million widows live in poverty, and 81 million have faced physical abuse. India has around 40 million widows of which 15000 live in the Holy City of Vrindavan (Mathura district of Uttar Pradesh, India).

12345...10...Last »