West Bengal Current Affairs - Current Affairs Today

West Bengal

President appoints new Governors to five states

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee appointed Governors of five states, namely Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Gujarat and Nagaland.

Given below is the list of Governors and their respective state of appointment:

  • Keshari Nath Tripathi: Governor of West Bengal
  • Balramji Dass Tandon: Governor of Chhattisgarh
  • Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya: Governor of both Nagaland and Tripura
  • Ram Naik: Governor of Uttar Pradesh
  • Om Prakash Kohli: Governor of Gujarat

July 4 is the deadline for implementing Food Security Act

Adhering to its earlier decision of a 3-month extension to States and Union Territories to implement the National Food Security Act, the Union government’s Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution is firm that the deadline for implementing the scheme is July 4, 2014. So far only 11 States have implemented the Act. 20 States and 5 Union Territories are yet to implement it.

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) government in West Bengal has urged the Centre to extend the July 4 deadline.

As per law the National Food Security Act has to be implemented within a year of its coming into force. West Bengal subsidized food grains were distributed among beneficiaries under several categories. But after the National Food Security Act is implemented in a State no such categories would exist.

The Ministry has clarified that if West Bengal does not implement the Act by the deadline, the several schemes in West Bengal under which food grains are distributed at a subsidized rate will not be stopped.

Jalpaiguri bifurcation takes the number of districts in Bengal to 20

A new district is being carved out by bifurcating Jalpaiguri district of West Bengal with a view to expedite government services. The new district will be Alipurduar. This will be state’s 20th district and will get status of district on June 25, 2014.

People were facing delays in delivery of government services for being far from the district headquarters. It took a lot of time to reach district headquarters. The creation of new district through bifurcation will help the people in availing government services.

West Bengal, Maharashtra sign agreement to help victims of trafficking

The governments of West Bengal and Maharashtra have inked an MoU to facilitate identification and repatriation of women and children who are victims of human trafficking.

The governments signed pact to follow a Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) to establish identities of those rescued. It has been seen in most cases that when the Maharashtra Police rescue some women or children and find that they are Bengali-speaking, they send them to the State without establishing their identity or following any procedures. Since the identities of those rescued are not ascertained sometimes, rescue homes in the State are flooded with women and girls from Bangladesh. It has also been observed that many a time police from other States brings the victims to the shelters without informing the State government. The MoU will ensure that a Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) is followed to establish identities of those rescued. Maharashtra will repatriate the women directly to Bangladesh once the place they are from is confirmed.