Current Affairs Today - Current Affairs 2017

हिंदी करंट अफेयर्स प्रश्नोत्तरी 2017 के लिए यहाँ क्लिक करें.

Enter your Email address to receive updates in your inbox

Rohit Sharma breaks record for highest one-day international score ever

Indian cricketer Rohit Sharma has made history by scoring the highest ODI score of 264 runs.  He achieved this distinction during the 4th ODI between India and Sri Lanka played at Kolkata. Rohit surpassed several records including Virender Sehwag’s 219 and his own 209 – scored against Australia in Bangalore in November 2013.

He made this record score in 173 which included 33 fours and 9 sixes. He got to his 50 off 72, 100 off 100, 150 off 125, 200 off 151 and 250 off 166.

He also became only the fifth Indian batsman after Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar to post two or more scores in excess of 150 in ODIs.

Indian cricketer’s to reach Double century milestone:

Sachin Tendulkar was the first Indian cricketer to reach double century landmark against South Africa in 2010. The second one to do so was Virendra Sehwag who scored 219 against West Indies in the year 2011. Third one was Rohit Sharma to score 209 runs against Australia in 2013.


Fadnavis Government wins trust vote in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly

BJP Government led by Devendra Fadnavis has won the trust vote in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly through voice vote. The decision of voice vote was made by newly elected speaker Haribhau Bagde. The confidence motion by the voice vote was moved by senior BJP leader Ashish Shelar.

Earlier on that day, BJP’s leader Haribhau Bagde was elected unanimously as speaker of Maharashtra assembly, after Shiv Sena and Congress withdrew the nominations of their candidates.

On the same day, Speaker Haribhau Bagade had announced that Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde will be the opposition leader of the house.

Speaker’s decision of voice vote was criticised by Shiv Sena and Congress. Congress has decided to meet the Governor and demand to take the trust vote again through division vote instead of voice vote.

Voice Vote versus Division vote

When a motion is put to voice vote the speaker says, ‘Those in the favour of the motion say Aye and those opposing it say No.’ According to the voice vote, the Speaker decides whether the motion/Bill is accepted or negated by the House. If a member is not happy with a voice vote, it can be challenged and a division vote can be asked for.

Division vote is a process in which legislators press buttons on Automatic Vote Recording machine to record their votes, which are then counted. No voting record of individual MLA’s/MPs is available in Division vote. When a division is asked for, there is a record of total number of votes for and against, but no details of individual votes are maintained. Most motions and legislation are passed through voice-votes.