Awards Current Affairs 2017

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Dr. R Seetharaman conferred with 2016 Green Economy Visionary Award

Dr. R Seetharaman, Group CEO of Doha Bank, has been honoured with the 2016 Green Economy Visionary Award.

He has been awarded with this award for his contribution in environment-friendly activities and thereby promoting green economy for nearly two decades.

The award was bestowed upon him by Mohammed Jarrah Al-Sabah, Chairman of Union of Arab Banks at the 2016 Union of Arab Banks (UAB) International Banking Summit held in Rome.

About Dr. R Seetharaman

  • In 2015, business magazine Forbes had ranked Seetharaman sixth in the Forbes’ Top Indian Leaders in the Arab World 2015 list.
  • R Seetharaman is a recipient of multiple doctorates, first in Global Governance from the European University (2013) and the second in Green Banking and Sustainability from Sri Sri University (2015).
  • He also has received an honorary degree (Doctorate of Laws) from the Washington College.
  • He was named CEO of Doha Bank in September 2007. Since then, he has overseen the bank’s expansion from its base in Qatar to the UAE, India, Singapore and China and other countries.

Doha Bank was incorporated in 1978 and commenced its banking business including its International Banking services in Doha, Qatar in March 1979.


AR Rahman conferred with Japan’s Fukuoka prize 2016

Legendary Oscar winning Indian music composer A R Rahman was awarded Japan’s Fukuoka prize for the year 2016.

He has been conferred with this award in the Grand Prize category for his outstanding contribution towards creating, preserving and showcasing South Asian traditional fusion music.

Besides, Philippines’ historian Ameth R Ocampo and Pakistani singer Yasmeen Lari have also won the 2016 Fukuoka prize in Academic and Arts and Culture categories respectively.

About AR Rahman

  • A R. Rahman (full name Allah-Rakha Rahman) is one of the most globally popular Indian music icons.
  • His work is well known and renowned for inter mixing Eastern classical music with electronic music and traditional orchestral arrangements.
  • He has won multiple international awards including 2 Academy Awards (famously known as Oscars), 2 Grammy Awards, BAFTA Award and Golden Globe Award.

About Fukuoka Prize

  • Fukuoka Prize is an annual prize that honours the outstanding work of individuals or organizations in preserving or creating Asian culture.
  • It was established in 1990 by the Japanese city of Fukuoka and the Yokatopia Foundation.
  • The prize has three categories Grand Prize, Academic Prize, and Arts and Culture Prize.
  • The award ceremony is held in every year in September (which is also known as Asian Month in Fukuoka) along with the public forums by the prize winners.
  • Previous winners from India include dancer Padma Subrahmanyam, sitar player Ravi Shankar, sarod maestro Amjad Ali Khan and historians Romila Thapar and Ramachandra Guha (2015).


Indian-American scientist Arnab De wins Springer Theses Award

Indian-American scientist Arnab De has received the prestigious Springer Theses Award. He was nominated by New York’s Columbia University for his PhD thesis.

He was selected for the award for his outstanding research on developing transgenic mice to study a critical tumor-suppressor A20.

Arnab De also has developed peptide-based prodrugs as therapeutics for diabetes. For this he was awarded ‘Young Investigator Award’ at the American Peptide Symposium.

About Springer Theses Award

  • The Springer Theses Award is awarded in recognition of outstanding PhD research at international level.
  • It is awarded by a leading global publisher of renowned scientific journals and books Springer.
  • Internationally top-ranked research institutes select their best thesis annually for publication in the book series Springer Theses: Recognising Outstanding PhD research.
  • The winners get a cash prize of 500 euros and their research work is highlighted by the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO).