awards Current Affairs

Enter your Email address to receive updates in your inbox

National Safety Council’s NSCI Safety Awards 2016 presented to 70 Organisations

Minister of State (IC) for Labour & Employment Bandaru Dattatreya awarded NSCI Safety Awards 2016 to 70 Organisations at a function held in New Delhi. In addition, 12 client organizations from Construction Sector were also awarded. The Award was granted to the organisations under four categories:

  • SarvaShreshtha Suraksha Puraskar,
  • Shreshtha Suraksha Puraskar,
  • Suraksha Puraskar
  • PrashansaPatra.

In Manufacturing Sector, Indian Oil’s Digboi refinery, National Fertilizers, Panipat, and NPCIL, Kaiga Generating Station 3 and 4, Karnataka, are the winners.

In Construction Sector, Godrej & Boyce Mfg. Co. Ltd. And L&T Ltd., Rawatbhata, Chittorgarh has been selected for its works on NPCIL Atomic Power Project, Rajasthan.

In MSME Sector, Electricals & Electronics, Thane, has won SarvaShreshtha Suraksha Puraskar for the year 2016.

Interestingly, none of the winners witnessed any fatal accident during the 3-year assessment period. More specifically, National Fertilizers Ltd. Panipat has achieved a massive 49.67 million accident-free man-hours spread over 11 years and 5 months.

The Government framed the National Policy on Occupational Safety, Health and Environment in 2009. As many changes have taken place in national as well as international arena, the government has constituted an Inter-Ministerial Committee to review the national policy.

National Safety Council

It is a self-supporting non- profit autonomous society coming under the purview of Ministry of Labour and Employment. It has been conducting award schemes for three sectors- Manufacturing Sector since 1998; Construction Sector from 2005 and Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises from 2009.

The main objective of the NSCI award scheme is to recognise organisations that have made meritorious performance in achieving occupational safety and health (OSH) and implemented effective OSH management systems, practices and procedures.


UNESCO’s Felix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize 2017 winners

UNESCO has named Giuseppina Nicolini, Mayor of Lampedusa (Italy) and the non-governmental organisation SOS Méditerranée (France) as the winners of Felix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize 2017 “for their work to save the lives of refugees and migrants and welcome them with dignity”.

In the past, Felix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize has been granted to internationally renowned personalities like Nelson Mandela, Yasser Arafat, King Juan Carlos of Spain, former US president Jimmy Carter and Shimon Peres. For the first time, the award goes to a mayor.

Giuseppina Nicolini is a 56-year-old mayor of a small Italian island since 2012. She has been selected for the award for “her boundless humanity and unwavering commitment to refugee crisis management”. As a mayor, Nicolini ensured that the Lampedusa deals as efficiently and humanely as possible with the migrants and refugees arriving from war-torn Middle Eastern countries by sea. Lampedusa is a small island which is roughly equidistant from Southern Sicily, Malta and Tunisia.

SOS Mediterranee is an NGO founded in 2015 to rescue the refugees each week from dinghies and boats in the Mediterranean. Since 2013, it is estimated that nearly 13,000 people have perished in shipwrecks.

Felix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize

UNESCO’s Felix Houphouet-Boigny Peace Prize was created in 1989 to honour living individuals and active public or private bodies or institutions that have made significant contribution to peace. The Prize was established by a resolution supported by 120 countries and was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO at its 25th session.