awards Current Affairs

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Bezwada Wilson, TM Krishna receive 2016 Magsaysay Award

Two Indians TM Krishna and Bezwada Wilson have received the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay prize for the year 2016.

They were among six persons/organisations who received the prestigious award, often regarded as Asia’s Nobel Prize.

The award ceremony was held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines in Pasay City, Manila on August 31, 2015 i.e. on the birth anniversary of former Filipino President Ramon Magsaysay.

Six awardees are

  • Bezwada Wilson (India): He is the National Convener of the Safai Karmachari Andolan (SKA). He was awarded for asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity.
  • He has done remarkable work in liberating scores of people engaged in manual scavenging across the country.
  • Thodur Madabusi Krishna (India): He is a Carnatic music vocalist. He was bestowed with this award ensuring social inclusiveness in culture.
  • Conchita Carpio Morales (Philippines): She was bestowed with this award for restoring faith in the rule of law.
  • Dompet Dhuafa (Indonesia): She was bestowed with this award for expanding the transformative impact of zakat.
  • Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers (Japan): The organisation was awarded for building a world of genuine solidarity.
  • Vientiane Rescue (Laos): The organisation awarded for volunteering to save lives at risk.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award

  • Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest cilivian honour and is often regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.
  • Established in 1957 in the memory of Philippines’ third President Ramon Magsaysay who had died in air disaster in March 1957.
  • It was established the New York City based Rockefeller Brothers Fund and Philippine government.
  • It is awarded annually to individuals or organizations from Asia region for their altruistic and philanthropic service.
  • The award carries a medallion bearing the likeness of the late President Ramon Magsaysay, cash prize and a certificate.


Padma Sachdev awarded 2015 Saraswati Samman

Eminent Dogri language Poetess and novelist Padma Sachdev was awarded the prestigious Saraswati Samman for the year 2015.

She was bestowed with this prestigious award for her autobiography ‘Chitt-Chete’ (published in 2007) written in Dogri language. She was felicitated by Delhi’s Lt Governor Najeeb Jung in New Delhi.

About Padma Sachdev

  • Padma Sachdev is first modern woman poet of Dogri language. She also writes in Hindi.
  • She has published her several poetry collection and has 60 books to her credit. Her poetry collection Meri Kavita Mere Geet (My Poems, My Songs) has won the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1971.
  • Some of her famous books are Tavi Te Chanhan (1976), Nheriyan Galiyan (1982), Pota Pota Nimbal (1987), Uttar Vahini (1992) and Tainthian (1992).
  • Awards and Honours: Sahitya Akademi Award (1971), Padma Shri (2001), and the Kabir Samman for poetry (2007-08) by Government of Madhya Pradesh.

About Saraswati Samman

  • Saraswati Samman is an annual literary award bestowed upon Indian citizen for his outstanding literary work written in any Indian language.
  • These literary works should be in Indian languages that are mentioned in Schedule VIII of Constitution and published during last 10 years.
  • The award has been named after Hindu goddess of learning and is considered to be among the highest literary awards in India.
  • Established: 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation.
  • Award Carries: Monetary award of 15 lakh rupees, a citation and a plaque.
  • Eminent Hindi author Harivansh Rai Bachchan was the first recipient of this award for his autobiography in four volumes.


29 August: National Sports Day

The National Sports Day is observed every year across India on 29 August to mark the birth anniversary of the legendary hockey player Dhyan Chand who was born on 29 August 1905.

On this occasion, President Pranab Mukherjee conferred National Sports Awards on sports person at the Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi.

Recipients of 2016 National Sports Awards are

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: PV Sindhu (Badminton), Sakshi Malik (Wrestling), Dipa Karmakar (Gymnastics) and Jitu Rai (Shooting). For more details: Click here

About Major Dhyan Chand

  • The legendary hockey player was born on 29 August 1905 in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh.
  • He is widely considered as the greatest field hockey player of all time. He had started playing hockey only after joining the Army at the age of 16.
  • He was famously known as ‘The Wizard’ for his superb ball control and had scored more than 1000 goals during his international career.
  • He is mostly remembered for his extraordinary goal-scoring feats, in addition to earning 3 Olympic gold medals in field hockey in 1928 (Amsterdam), 1932 (Los Angeles) and 1936 (Berlin).