awards Current Affairs

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Gururaja Bhat Award conferred on historian A.V. Narasimha Murthi

Dr. Paduru Gururaja Bhat Award 2017 has been conferred upon Prof. A.V. Narasimha Murthy, Chairman, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan (BVB), Mysuru and former Head, Department of Ancient History and Archaeology, University of Mysore. Murthy was selected for the award in consideration of his contribution to Indian Archaeology, Ancient History and Numismatics. The award was presented to Murthy by the Union Minister for Statistics and Programme Implementation D.V. Sadananda Gowda.

Dr. Paduru Gururaja Bhat (1924-1978)

Paduru Gururaja Bhat was a teacher, historian, and researcher par excellence. He studied and researched history of Tulu Nadu for over two decades and culture by travelling to most of the villages in Udupi and Dakshina Kannada districts and visiting temples and other places studying inscriptions. He is credited for providing cultural identity to the region of Tulu Nadu. On the basis of his extensive research, Bhat published his magnum opus, Studies in Tuluva History and Culture, in 1975.

Dr. Paduru Gururaja Bhat Award 2017

The award was instituted in 2010 by Udupi-based Dr. Paduru Gururaja Bhat Memorial Trust and carries a citation and a purse of Rs. 50,000. The award recognises outstanding contributions in the field of history, archaeology, sociology, and other social sciences.


Malala Yousafzai made youngest UN Messenger of Peace

United Nations (UN) Secretary General Antonio Guterres has bestowed the highest honour UN Messenger of Peace upon Nobel Peace Prize laureate Malala Yousafzai.

She was described as a symbol of the most important thing in the world-education for all. With this, she became youngest ever UN Messenger of Peace.

About Malala Yousafzai

  • Malala was born on 12 July 1997 in Mingora city in Swat province of Pakistan.
  • At the age of 11 she had caught international attention as female education activist after writing for the BBC about life under the Taliban in Pakistan under pseudonym Gul Makai.
  • Her campaign had led to a Taliban assassination attempt near that left her severely wounded after she was shot in head in 2012.
  • Awards and Honours: In 2014, at the age of 17 she was awarded Nobel peace prize, becoming youngest Nobel Laureate in the history of Nobel award.
  • National Youth Peace Prize (2011), Mother Teresa Awards for Social Justice (2012), Simon de Beauvoir Prize (2013), Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought (2013), Anna Politkovskaya Award (2013).
  • UN has declared  12 July as ‘Malala Day’ in her honour.

About UN Messenger of Peace

  • The coveted title is bestowed by UN upon distinguished individuals, carefully selected from the fields of art, literature, music and sports or other fields of public life.
  • The Messengers of Peace scheme was instigated in 1997 as a central addition to the system of UN goodwill ambassadors and honorary ambassadors, run by the different UN agencies since 1954.
  • The messengers of peace are appointed directly by the Secretary-General of the UN and are intended to promote the work of the United Nations in general and
  • Initially they were chosen for a period of three year, but three of the current twelve messengers, Michael Douglas, Jane Goodall, and Yo-Yo Ma have served for more than ten years.


Colson Whitehead wins 2017 Pulitzer Prize for ‘Underground Railroad’

Colson Whitehead’s celebrated novel The Underground Railroad has won the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for fiction. The novel is about an escaped slave that combined liberating imagination and brutal reality.

Earlier in November 2016, the novel had received the National Book Award of US. This makes Colson Whitehead first person to win Pulitzer and National Book Award for fiction in last 20 years. 

List of 2017 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Letters, Drama & Music
  • Fiction: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead.
  • Drama: Sweat by Lynn Nottage.
  • History: Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy, by Heather Ann Thompson.
  • Biography or Autobiography: The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between, by Hisham Matar.
  • Poetry: Olio, by Tyehimba Jess (Wave Books)
  • General Nonfiction: Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City, by Matthew Desmond.
  • Music: Angel’s Bone, by Du Yun.
  • Public Service: New York Daily News and ProPublica
  • Breaking News Reporting: Staff of East Bay Times, Oakland.
  • Investigative Reporting: Eric Eyre of Charleston Gazette-Mail, Charleston/.
  • Explanatory Reporting: International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and Miami Herald
  • Local Reporting: The Salt Lake Tribune Staff
  • National Reporting: David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post
  • International Reporting: The New York Times Staff
  • Feature Writing: C. J. Chivers of The New York Times
  • Commentary: Peggy Noonan of The Wall Street Journal
  • Criticism: Hilton Als of The New Yorker
  • Editorial Writing: Art Cullen of The Storm Lake Times, Storm Lake.
  • Editorial Cartooning: Jim Morin of Miami Herald
  • Breaking News Photography: Daniel Berehulak, freelance photographer
  • Feature Photography: Jason Wambsgans of Chicago Tribune

About Pulitzer Prize

  • The Pulitzer Prize is an annual award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States.
  • It was established in 1917 by provisions in will of American-Hungarian newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer. The award is administered by Columbia University in New York City.
  • Prizes are awarded yearly in 21 categories. In 20 of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$15,000 cash award. The winner in the public service category of the journalism is awarded a gold medal.