Cristiano Ronaldo Current Affairs

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Cristiano Ronaldo named the world’s best player for 2016

Portuguese footballer Cristiano Ronaldo was named the world’s best player for the year 2016 at the inaugural Best FIFA Football Awards held in Zurich, Switzerland. To win this title he received 34.54% of total votes.

He defeated Barcelona’s Lionel Messi (26.42%), Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann (7.53%) to win the coveted prize.

Other 2016 awardees are
  • Best FIFA Women’s Player: Carli Lloydll (US).
  • Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Claudio Ranieri (Italy).
  • Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Silvia Neid (Germany).
  • FIFA Puskas Award: Mohd Faiz Subri (Malaysia).
  • FIFA Fair Play Award: Atletico Nacional
  • FIFA Award for an Outstanding Career: Falcao (Brazil).
  • FIFA Fan Award: Borussia Dortmund and Liverpool supporters.

About Best FIFA Football Awards

The Best FIFA Football Awards are an association football awards presented annually by the FIFA. They are awared in by FIFA to several individuals across different categories. The selection criteria for the (men’s and women’s) players of the year are: sporting performance, general conduct on and off the pitch from 20 November 2015 to 22 November 2016. The selected will be voted by media representatives, national team coaches, and national team captains.


Cristiano Ronaldo crowned UEFA Best Player in Europe award

Portuguese footballer Cristiano Ronaldo (31) has won the UEFA Best Player in Europe award for the year 2015-16.

This is second time he has won this award after he was crowned for first time in 2013–14. To bag this award, Ronaldo defeated Antoine Griezmann and Gareth Bale.

In 2015, he had scored 35 goals for Real Madrid and 16 goals in Champions League competition. He scored 3 goals for Portugal national team at Euro 2016.

Other Category winners

  • Ada Hegerberg: She was crowned with UEFA Best Women’s Player in Europe Award for the year 2015-16.
  • Lionel Messi: He was crowed UEFA Goal of the Season award for the 2015-16. He had won the award for his strike against Roma. His famous goal had received 73331 votes.

About UEFA Best Player in Europe Award

  • The award is an association football award given to the footballer playing for a football club in Europe that is considered the best in the previous season.
  • The award was created in 2011 by UEFA and had replaced the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year award.
  • It aimed at reviving European Footballer of the Year Award (Ballon d’Or) which was merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year Award in 2010 to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or.


Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Ballon d’Or award for the third time

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or award for year 2014.

He has earned this title of world’s best football player for a third time. Earlier he was conferred with award in 2008 and 2013.

He has retained this highest individual honour in football after scoring 61 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal in 2014. He also had played important role, by making record tally of 17 goals in a Champions League season that helped his club to win an unprecedented 10th European Cup title.

While in women’s section, Germany’s midfielder Nadine Kessler has been awarded FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year title.

FIFA Ballon d’Or Award

  • It is an annual football association award given by FIFA to the male player who has performed the best in the previous calendar year.
  • This award was instituted in 2010 after France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Year award were merged.
  • It is awarded to the male player, based upon highest votes secured by him from national team coaches and captains, as well as journalists from around the world.
  • Inaugural 2010 FIFA Ballon d’Or was awarded to Lionel Messi. Later he won this award for consecutive two years i.e. 2011 and 2012.