Delhi Current Affairs

Delhi becomes first state to withdraw FDI in Multibrand Retail

The Aam Aadmi Party-led government has withdrawn the Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in multi-brand retail in Delhi.  The government formally wrote to the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP) to disapprove the setting up of FDI-funded multi-brand retail stores in the State. With this withdrawal, the national capital territory has become the first State Government to withdraw permission for FDI-funded retail stores.

The decision is bound to impact the overall FDI scenario not just in Delhi but also in associated states viz. Haryana, Rajasthan , Punjab, etc, because Delhi is the hub for northern states.

Why such a decision by Delhi Govt.?

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal is of the view that though the FDI provides a wide range of choice to consumers but it also creates unemployment as was seen in many countries.  That’s why, the foreign participation into the supermarkets sector would worsen the city’s unemployment problem and therefore the government is opposed to it. The manifesto of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) party too opposed the policy of FDI in multi-brand retail.

Note: The previous Delhi Government led by the Congress had approved FDI in multi-brand retail. The states that allow FDI funded stores (mostly Congress-led) viz. Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Haryana, Rajasthan, Manipur, Karnataka, etc.


Gorakhpur now has world’s longest railway platform

A newly constructed railway platform in Gorakhpur, U.P. entered into the Limca Book of World Records for being world’s longest railway platform.

  • Platform No. 1 of the Gorakhpur is 1366.33 metres with ramp and 11355.40 metres without it.
  • Gorakhpur is headquarter of North Eastern Railways zone.

The World’s longest railway platforms are:

  1. Gorakhpur railway station (Uttar Pradesh, India): 1,366.33 m (4,483 ft)
  2. Kollam Junction Railway Station (Kerala, India): 1,180.5 m (3,873 ft)
  3. Kharagpur (West Bengal, India): 1,072.5 m (3,519 ft)
  4. State Street Center subway station (Chicago, Illinois, USA): 1,067 m (3,501 ft) (longest in United States)
  5. Cheriton Shuttle Terminal (Folkestone, United Kingdom): 791 m (2,595 ft) (longest in Europe)
  6. Bilaspur railway station (Chhattisgarh, India): 790 m (2,592 ft)
  7. Jhansi (Uttar Pradesh, India): 770 m (2,526 ft)
  8. East Perth railway station (Perth, Western Australia): 770 m (2,526 ft) (longest in Australia)
  9. Kalgoorlie railway station (Kalgoorlie, Western Australia): 760 m (2,493 ft)
  10. Sonepur railway station (Sonepur, Bihar, India): 738 m (2,421 ft)

After Gorakhpur,and Kollam, Kharagpur has the world’s third longest railway platform in the world with a length of 1,072.5 metres (3,519 ft).

Zones and Headquarters of Indian Railways

Indian Railways has 17 zones and each zonal railway is made up of a certain number of divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of 68 divisions.

Zones Headquarters Divisions
Central (CR) Mumbai Bhusawal, Nagpur, Mumbai(CST), Solapur, Pune
East Central (ECR) Hajipur Danapur, Dhanbad, Sonepur, Mughalsarai, Samastipur
Eastern Coast (ECoR) Bhubaneswar Khurda Road, Waltair, Sambalpur
Eastern (ER) Kolkata Malda, Howarh, Sealdah, Asansol
North Central (NCR) Allahabad Allahabad, Jhansi, Agra
North-Eastern (NER) Gorakhpur Lucknow, Varanasi, Izatnagar
North-Western (NWR) Jaipur Bikaner, Jodhpur, Jaipur, Ajmer
Northeast Frontier (NFR) Guwahati Katihar, Lumding, Tinsukhia, Alipurduar, Rangiya
Northern (NR) Delhi Ambala, Ferozpur, Lucknow, Moradabad, Delhi
South-Central (SCR) Secunderabad Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Guntakal, Vijaywada, Guntur, Nanded
South-East Central (SECR) Bilaspur Nagpur, Bilaspur, Raipur
South-Eastern (SER) Kolkata Kharagpur, Chakradharpur, Adra, Ranchi
South-Western (SWR) Hubli Bangalore, Mysore, Hubli
Southern (SR) Chennai Chennai, Madurai, Palghat, Trichy, Trivandrum
West Central (WCR) Jabalpur Jabalpur, Bhopal, Kota
Western (WR) Mumbai Bhavnagar, Mumbai Central, Ratlam, Rajkot, Vadodara*, Ahemdabad
Kolkata Metro Railway (KMR) Kolkata Kolkata metropolitan area, South 24 Parganas, North 24 Parganas