Kazakhstan Current Affairs

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

UNGA elect Ethiopia, Bolivia, Sweden and Kazakhstan as non-permanent UNSC members

The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) has elected Ethiopia, Bolivia, Sweden and Kazakhstan as the non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

These newly-elected countries will have two-year term starting from 1 January 2017 till 31 December 2018. They will replace Spain, Malaysia, New Zealand, Angola and Venezuela.

The voting for these countries in the UNGA was conducted by secret ballot in which members of the UNGA had voted.

Key Facts

  • Bolivia (183 votes) and Ethiopia (185 votes) were chosen from Group of Latin America and the Caribbean and Africa region respectively.
  • Sweden (134 votes) won from the Group of Western Europe.
  • Kazakhstan won from the Group of Asia Pacific against Thailand.

About United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

  • UNSC is one of the five principal organs of the United Nations (UN).
  • It is charged with the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the UN and approving any changes to its UN Charter.
  • Powers: (i) establishment of peacekeeping operations, (ii) establishment of international sanctions, (iii) authorization of military action through UNSC resolution.
  • It is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member states.
  • Members: It consists of five permanent, veto-wielding members – China, Russia, France, UK and US along with 10 non-permanent members.
  • The non-permanent seats are allocated according to a rotation pattern set by the UNGA in 1963, to ensure a proportionate representation over time from different parts of the world.
  • Of the 10 members, 5 are from African and Asian states, 1 from Eastern European states, 2 from Latin American states and 2 from Western European and Other states.


Sonia Lather wins silver medal in Women’s World Boxing Championships

Indian boxer Sonia Lather has won the silver medal at the AIBA Women’s World Championships held in Astana, Kazakhstan.

In the final match of featherweight 57kg category, she was defeated by the gold medalist Mesiano Alessia of Italy by 2-1 score.

Sonia Lather was the only medal winner in this edition of tournament. In 2010, MC Mary Kom had won the gold medal in the 48kg category which was her fifth world title.

In the 2016 edition of AIBA World Championships of Boxing Kazakhstan finished on top of the table with 4 gold and 2 bronze medals. China was the runners-up with 2 gold and silver medals.


India inks MoUs with six countries in the field of International Civil Aviation Negotiations

India has inked Memorandum of Understandings (MoUs) with six countries namely in the field of International Civil Aviation Negotiations.

They were signed by Indian delegation representing Union Ministry of Civil Aviation in the International Civil Aviation Negotiations (ICAN) 2015 conference.

These 6 signed MoUs are with

  • Oman: MoU was signed to for adding additional 5131 seats in order to make the total capacity entitlements from present 16018 seats per week to 21149 seats per week.
  • Kazakhstan: MoU was signed to review the initialled Air Services Agreement (ASA) as per the latest Article 11 given by the Indian side.
  • Kenya: MoU was signed to enhance the capacity entitlements between both sides by increasing it from present 14 frequencies to 21 additional frequencies.
  • Ethiopia: MoU was signed to enhance the capacity entitlements between both sides by increasing it from the existing 21 frequencies per week to 28 frequencies per week.
  • Finland: MoU was signed for code share, intermodal services, routing flexibility and open sky on cargo, which are mandatory requirement of Horizontal Agreement.
  • Sweden, Norway and Denmark: MoU was signed by both the parties in 4 provisions namely, code shares, routing flexibility, intermodal and open sky on cargo which is a mandatory requirement of Horizontal Agreement agreed by these three Scandinavian countries.

In this conference, the Indian delegation also met the delegations from Greece, Qatar, Serbia, European Union and Brunei Darussalam. They discussed about expansion of air services between India and these countries.