Manipur Current Affairs

Dr. Najma Heptulla sworn-in as 18th Governor of Manipur

Dr. Najma Heptulla was sworn-in as the 18th Governor of Manipur. She replaced Shanmuganathan who was holding the dual charge of Governor of Meghalaya and Manipur.

She was administered oath of office by Acting Chief Justice of Manipur High Court Rakesh Ranjan Prasad as per the provisions of Article 159 of Constitution of India.

About Dr. Najma Akbarali Heptulla

  • Born on 13 April 1940 in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. She is five time member of the Rajya Sabha between 1986 and 2012.
  • She had served as and Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha for sixteen years in two different terms from 1985 to 1986 and 1988 to 2004.
  • She is former vice-president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). In 2007, she had unsuccessfully had contested the 13th vice-presidential election against Hamid Ansari.
  • In NDA Government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi she had served as Union Minister of Minority Affairs from May 2014 to July 2016. She had resigned on age grounds.


Najma Heptulla appointed Manipur Governor

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed former Union Minister Najma Heptulla (76) as Governor of Manipur.

She had served as Union Minority Affairs Minister in the Union Cabinet of NDA Government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. But she had resigned in July 2016.

Besides President also appointed

  • Banwarilal Purohit as Governor of Assam. He is a three-time former member of Lok Sabha from Nagpur and Managing Editor of Central India’s daily ‘The Hitavada’,
  • VP Singh Badnore as Governor of Punjab. He hails from Rajasthan and is associated with Mayo College, Ajmer.
  • Jagdish Mukhi as Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. He is Delhi-based BJP leader and former MLA from Delhi.

There appointments will take effect from the dates the incumbents assume their charge.

Constitutional provisions of Governor

  • Article 153: It says that there shall be Governor for each state. But 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 facilitated the appointment of the same person as a governor for two or more states.
  • Article 156: Governor is appointed by President and hold office during the pleasure of President. It should be also noted that this article also mentions tenure of Governor. In this regard it says that Governor shall hold office for the term of 5 years from date he enters upon his office.


Irom Sharmila ends 16-year-long fast

The Iron Lady of Manipur Irom Chanu Sharmila (44) ended her 16-year-long hunger strike for repealing of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA) of 1958 from Manipur.

After ending her16-year-long hunger strike, she announced that she wants bring some positive changes in the state by actively participating in politics and contesting elections.

About Irom Chanu Sharmila

  • Born on 14 March 1972 in Imphal, Manipur. She is a civil rights activist, political activist, and poet.
  • She is famously known as the Iron Lady of Manipur and also as Mengoubi (the fair one).
  • She had started hunger-strike at the age of 28 following a massacre in Malom, Imphal in which innocent 10 persons were killed by the Assam Rifles in November 2000.
  • Her main demand was for repealing Armed AFSPA, 1958 from her state which provided immunity to armed forces with regard to their actions.
  • Since November 2000, Sharmila was forcefully fed through nasal tube. She is the world’s longest hunger striker, as she had refused food and water for more than 500 weeks.
  • Awards and Honours: Gwangju Prize for Human Rights (2007), Mayillama Award (2009), lifetime achievement award (2010) from the Asian Human Rights Commission, Rabindranath Tagore Peace Prize (2010) etc.
For more details: AFSPA