Persons in News 2017

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Najeeb Jung appointed as new Lieutenant-Governor of Delhi

President Pranab Mukherjee appointed Najeeb Jung (62), former Vice-Chancellor of Jamia Millia Islamia, as the new Lieutenant-Governor of Delhi. He will replace Tejendra Khanna.

Mr. Jung had joined the Indian Administrative Services in 1973 and served at various positions at the Centre and Madhya Pradesh. He had quit IAS after serving as Joint Secretary (Exploration) in the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas.

Other Key Appointments:

  • Former Delhi Police commissioner K K Paul appointed as Meghalaya governor replacing Ranjit Shekhar Mooshahary.
  • Punjab Congress chief Virendra Kataria has been appointed as LG of Puducherry succeeding Iqbal Singh.
  • Lt Gen (retired) A K Singh replaced Lt Gen (retired) Bhopinder Singh as LG of Andaman & Nicobar Islands.


Obama nominates James Comey as next FBI director

The US President Barack Obama nominated James Comey as the next FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation) Director. James Comey has been a registered Republican and former Justice Department official under President George W. Bush. The US senate is yet to confirm his nomination. He is likely to take charge from the outgoing Robert Mueller who held the post since 2001.


Sheikh Abdullah named new PM of Qatar

The former PM of Qatar Sheikh Hamad bin Jassem al-Thani has been excluded from the government and has been replaced with the former minister of state for internal affairs Sheikh Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa al-Thani as announced by country’s new Emir who recently ascended to the throne after the previous Emir transferred the power to his son Crown Prince Sheikh Tamim.

In the new government, Sheikh Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa al-Thani has been named both the Prime Minister and Interior Minister.