Current Affairs – May 2016

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

President Pranab Mukherjee approves names of four new judges of Supreme Court

President Pranab Mukherjee has approved names of four new judges for Supreme Court by signing their warrants of appointment as per Article 124 of Constitution.

These include 3 chief justices of high court and one senior advocate.  They will sworn-in later in May 2016. With this, the judicial strength of the Supreme Court will move up to 28 of the total sanctioned strength of 31.

Recommended names are

  • Justice A M Khanwilkar: He is Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court.
  • Justice D Y Chandrachud: He is Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court.
  • Justice Ashok Bhushan: He is Chief Justice of Kerala High Court.
  • L Nageswara Rao: He is senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General.


The Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India (CJI) TS Thakur had recommended their names. They are the first appointments to the Supreme Court since the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC) Act was declared unconstitutional by the apex court in October 2015 and had restored the collegium system of judicial appointments.


Harish Rawat led Congress Government wins the Floor Test in Uttarakhand Assembly

Harish Rawat-led Congress Government has won the floor test in the state legislative assembly conducted on 10 May 2016 on the order of the Supreme Court.

In the floor test Harish Rawat Government recieved 33 votes against 28 votes out of 61 qualified members who voted in the assembly.

Based on this, the apex court has allowed Mr Rawat to assume office as Chief Minister after President’s rule is revoked in the state.

After the mandate of floor test in Uttarakhand Assembly, the Union Cabinet has taken decision to revoke President Rule in Uttarakhand.


  • The Himalayan state had plunged into a political crisis after nine legislators from ruling Congress had revolted against the Chief Minister Harish Rawat.
  • It had brought government into minority in the 70-member state legislature. Since then President Rule under Article 356 was imposed in Uttarakhand in March 2016.
  • Prior to imposition of President Rule, 9 rebel legislators were disqualified by the speaker under the anti-defection law.
  • However, Harish Rawat had challenged the President Rule in the Uttarakhand High Court which in its April 21, 2016 order had quashed the President Rule.
  • Later, the Supreme Court on 5 May 2016 ordered to conduct of ‘composite floor test’ in the Uttarakhand legislative assembly based on its previous directives in the R. Bommai v. Union of India case.


May 11: National Technology Day

National Technology Day is being observed across India on May 11 to glorify the importance of science in day-to-day life and motivate students to adopt science as a career option.

2016 Theme: Technology enablers of Startup India’.

Several events are organized in various engineering colleges and technical institutes to mark the occasion.

Significance of the day

  • The day is being commemorated to celebrate the anniversary of first of the five tests of Operation Shakti (Pokhran-II) nuclear test, held on 11 May 1998 in Pokhran, Rajasthan.
  • Apart from Pokhran nuclear test, on this day first indigenous aircraft Hansa-3 was test flown at Bangalore.
  • India also conducted successful test firing of the Trishul missile on the same day.


  • Considering all these technical achievements, 11 May was chosen to be commemorated as National Technology Day.
  • To commemorate this day, Technology Development Board (TDB) has instituted a National Award.
  • This award is conferred on to various individuals and industries by the President for their successful achievement in commercialization of Indigenous Technology.