Telangana Current Affairs

Telangana government unveils New Industrial Policy

Telangana government has unveiled New Industrial Policy 2015 to boost industrial activity and employment opportunities in the state.

It was unveiled by Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao in Hyderabad.

Key facts about Telangana’s New Industrial Policy

  • Focuses to give quick, time-bound and transparent approvals for setting up projects in the state.
  • Establishment of a single window clearance system and give clearances in 2 weeks for mega projects. Penal action against officials for delaying the process of applications.
  • Prescribes norms for giving permissions to Mega project proposals with investments of Rs. 200 crore and above, large project proposals with investment of Rs 10 crore-Rs 200 crore and small and medium project proposals.
  • Self-certification system has been framed for industrialists. It will be backed by the Telangana State Industrial Project Approval and Self Certification System (TS-iPASS).
  • 14 identified core areas for a focused approach are Life Sciences, Information Technology, Aerospace, Pharma, textiles, minerals automobiles and transportation and logistics.
  • Special incentives for entrepreneurs belonging to women and SC and STs.
  • Telangana State Industrial Infrastructure Corporation (TSIIC) will secure statutory clearances for the Industrial Parks.
  • To develop Industrial Townships to make it easier to get to work.


Legendary Telugu writer Dasaradhi Rangacharya passes away

Legendary Telugu writer Dasaradhi Rangacharya passed away in Hyderabad, Telangana after a brief illness. He was 87.

About Dasaradhi Rangacharya

  • Dasaradhi was on 24 August 1928 in Khammam District erstwhile Hyderabad State now in Telangna.
  • Hyderabad liberation Struggle: He had actively participated in fight against the Nizam’s autocratic rule and also took part in the Telangana Armed Struggle till Hyderabad was liberated in Operation Polo.
  • Work: He had written number of books highlighting the life and agony of the people at the grass roots level especially in the then Telangana region.
  • His novels Chillara Devullu (The Lesser Deities)-1969, Moduga Poolu (Fire Flowers)-1971 are well known for influencing Telugu people against oppression by the rulers.
  • He also had translated all four Vedas, Ramayana and Mahabharata into Telugu. His autobiography was Jeevanayanam.
  • Awards: He was awarded Sahitya Academy award for Chillara Devullu.