Raghubar Das Current Affairs

Enter Your Email Address To Subscribe Current Affairs Daily Digest, Daily Quiz and other updates on Current Affairs:

Jharkhand Government launches Bhimrao Ambedkar Awas Yojana for widows

Jharkhand Government has launched Bhimrao Ambedkar Awas Yojana for widows to create equality and harmony in society, ensuring all round development enshrined in the Constitution.

It was launched by Chief Minister Raghubar Das on the occasion of 125th birth anniversary of Dr. B R Ambedkar.

Key facts

  • The scheme (Yojana) aims at building 11000 units (houses) for widows in 2016-17 financial year with the budgetary allocation of 80 crore rupees.
  • Under it, beneficiaries would get an amount of 75000 rupees to build a house in hilly terrains districts and 70000 rupees in plains area.
  • The amount would be distributed among the beneficiaries in three installments directly in their bank accounts. Under it widows will also get pension.


Dinesh Oraon elected as Speaker of Jharkhand Assembly

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Dinesh Oraon was unanimously elected as the Speaker of Jharkhand Legislative Assembly.

It was announced by the Protem Speaker Stephen Marandi. His name for the post was proposed by the Chief Minister Raghubar Das.

He is the 10th Speaker of the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly since the state was granted statehood status after bifurcating from Bihar on 15 November 2000.

About Dinesh Oraon

He is a member of Jharkhand Legislative Assembly from Sisai constituency of Gumla district. He has represented this constituency twice, first time in 2000 and for second time in 2014.  He has studied M A. and was lecturer in Ranchi University.


Raghubar Das sworn in as 10th CM of Jharkhand

Raghubar Das was sworn-in as 10th Chief Minister of Jharkhand and becoming first non-tribal to hold this post.

Jharkhand Governor Syed Ahmed administered the oath of office and secrecy to him at oath taking ceremony held at Birsa Munda Football Stadium, Ranchi, Jharkhand.

Along with Raghubar Das, following 4 cabinet ministers were sworn in

  • Nilkanth Singh Munda, Chandreswar Prasad Singh, Louis Marandi (all BJP).
  • Chandraprakash Choudhary (AJSU party).

Raghubar Das became 10th CM and 6th person as state CM after Babulal Marandi (once), Arjun Munda (thrice), Shibu Soren (thrice), Madhu Koda (once) and Hemant Soren (once) since state was granted statehood status after bifurcating from Bihar on 15 November 2000.


In 2014 Jharkhand State Assembly election, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had emerged victorious by winning 37 out of total 81 seats in state.

BJP along with its ally All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) which has won 5 seats in total has 42 seats, thus formed ruling government in state.

About Raghubar Das

  • He was recently elected to state legislative assembly from Jamshedpur (East) constituency.
  • He started his career as a labourer in Tata Steel. He did his schooling and college in Jamshedpur and later joined the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad.
  • Political career: He had joined BJP in 1980 and was elected as the state BJP chief twice.
  • He is five-time MLA from Jamshedpur East constituency. Earlier he became a minister in the Jharkhand government for the first time in 2000 and since then he has held portfolios of finance, labour and urban development during his stint as cabinet minister.
  • He also has served as the Deputy CM in the Shibu Soren government from 2009-10.