2016 Infosys Prize Winners

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) has announced six winners of the Infosys Prize 2016 in the six different categories of the award.

They will be bestowed with this award at the awards ceremony scheduled to be held in Bengaluru on 7 January 2017.

Winners are

  • Engineering and Computer Science: V. Kumaran. He has been chosen for his seminal work in complex fluids and complex flows especially in transition and turbulence in soft walled tubes and channels. His work is of high practical utility in cardio-vascular and pulmonary health.
  • Humanities: Sunil Amrith. He has been chosen for his outstanding contributions to the history of migration, history of international public health and environmental history and in recognition of his field-changing research on interrelated past of contemporary Asia.
  • Life Sciences: Gagandeep Kang. She has been chosen for her pioneering contributions to understanding the natural history of rotavirus and other infectious diseases.
  • Her findings have enormous implications for vaccines and other public health measures to thwart these infections.
  • Mathematical Sciences: Akshay Venkatesh. He has been chosen for his exceptionally wide ranging, foundational and creative contributions to modern number theory.
  • Physical Sciences: Anil Bhardwaj. He has been chosen for his outstanding contributions to Planetary Science and Exploration, including detection and delineation of the nature and origin of planetary X-rays.
  • Social Sciences: Kaivan Munshi. He has been chosen for his remarkably deep analysis of the multifaceted role of communities, such as castes and ethnic groups in the process of economic development.

About Infosys Prize

  • Infosys Prize is an annual award bestowed upon researchers, scientists, social scientists and engineers in India by the Infosys Science Foundation (ISF).
  • The Prize is given to six categories Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Engineering and Computer Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Humanities.
  • Each category prize carries a 22-carat gold medallion, a citation certificate and prize money of 65 Lakh rupees.
  • The Infosys Prize is one of the highest monetary awards in India that recognizes the scientific research.



Categories: Awards & Honours



Video from Our Channel