24 Standing Committees formed; BJP to head 11, Congress 5

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has declared the list of members and chairpersons for 24 DRSCs (Department Related Standing Committees) of Parliament. While the ruling BJP grabbed 11 chairperson posts of these panels, the Congress will chair 5, including the coveted Committee on Finance.

The Trinamool Congress will chair two panels. Members of Bahujan Samaj Party, Telugu Desam Party, Biju Janata Dal, Janata Dal (United), Shiv Sena and the AIADMK will chair one panel each.

Rajya Sabha Panels

  1. Committee on Commerce: Chandan Mitra (BJP)
  2. Committee on Home Affairs: P Bhattacharya (Congress)
  3. Committee on Human Resource Development: JP Nadda (BJP)
  4. Committee on Industries: KC Tyagi (JD-U)
  5. Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forests: Ashwani Kumar (Congress)
  6. Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture: KD Singh (Trinamool Congress)
  7. Committee on Health and Family Welfare: SC Mishra (BSP)
  8. Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice: EM Sudarsana Natchiappan (Congress)

Lok Sabha Panels

  1. Committee on Finance: Veerappa Moily (Congress)
  2. Committee on Agriculture: Hukm Deo Narayan Yadav (BJP)
  3. Committee on IT: Anurag Singh Thakur (BJP)
  4. Committee on Defence: BC Khanduri (BJP)
  5. Committee on Food, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution: JC Divakar Reddy (TDP)
  6. Committee on Labour: Virendra Kumar (BJP)
  7. Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas: Prahlad Joshi (BJP)
  8. Committee on  Railways: Dinesh Trivedi (Congress)
  9. Committee on  Urban Development: Pinaki Mishra (BJD)
  10. Committee on  Water Resources: Hukum Singh (BJP)
  11. Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers: Anandrao Adsul (Shiv Sena)
  12. Committee on Rural Development: P Venugopal (AIADMK)
  13. Committee on Coal and Steel: Hansraj Ahir (BJP)
  14. Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment: Ramesh Bais (BJP)
  15. Committee on Energy: Rajiv Pratap Rudy (BJP)
  16. Committee on External Affairs: Shashi Tharoor (Congress)

Financial Committees

  1. Committee on Estimates: Murli Manohar Joshi (BJP)
  2. Committee on Public sector Undertakings: Shanta Kumar (BJP)
  3. Public Accounts Committee: K V Thomas (Congress)


Categories: Banking Current Affairs 2017Persons in News 2017




  • Sumit Amrutwar


  • ashish

    sir this site is very much useful .it provide all current news with details and separate section for each topic is also nice.i appear in some exam and i found most of the current question from this site .thanx a lot