44 Armoured Regiment of Indian Army honoured with President’s Standards

44 Armoured Regiment of Indian Army on 25 February 2015 was honoured with President’s Standards for its meritorious and distinguished service to the nation for more than three decades.

The honour was bestowed on 44 Armoured Regiment by Chief of the Army Staff General Dalbir Singh on behalf of the President Paranb Mukherjee at function held at Suratgarh military station in Srigangangar district of Rajasthan. Chief of the Army Staff also released a Special Day Cover to commemorate this historic event.

About 44 Armoured Regiment

  • It was raised on 15 December 1981. Its founding commanding officer was Brig D.S. Dhillon. At present, the regiment is operating along the western borders.
  • Since its formation, regiment had participated in a large number of operations, including Operation Meghdoot (1984), Operation Rakshak-II (1991) and Operation Parakram (2001).
  • The regiment also has been recognised with the numerous awards. They are 2 Vishisht Seva Medals, 1 Uttam Jeevan Rakshak Padak, 21 Chief of the Army Staff Commendation Cards.
  • It also include 6 Vice Chief of Army Staff Commendation Cards, 19 General Officer Commanding in Chief Commendation Cards and 1 United Nations Force Commander Commendation.

About President’s Standards

  • The President’s Standard is the highest and most prestigious honour bestowed upon any regiment (unit) of the Armed Forces since their inception.
  • It is bestowed upon them in recognition to their invaluable contribution to the security of our Nation both during hostilities and peace.
  • It also marks and epitomises their selfless service hard work, valour and sacrifice of all the personnel posted in regiments.



Categories: AwardsDefence



Video from Our Channel