Arunachal Pradesh Government forms panel to discuss autonomous regions in the state

On August 14, 2020 the Arunachal Pradesh Government formed a committee under the chairmanship of Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein to discuss possible solutions of the Patkai Autonomous Council and Mon autonomous Region.

What is the issue?

the regions under the Autonomous councils of Arunachal Pradesh are currently under the Fifth Schedule of Indian Constitution. This does not provide special rights for the indigenous communities as that of the Sixth Schedule of the Indian Constitution. The autonomous councils in the sates are demanding to include Arunachal under the sixth schedule, to make the Arunachalees the owners of Natural resources rather than being protectors. Also, the Sixth Schedule will enable legitimate ownership making the indigenous communities self sufficient.

Sixth Schedule

The Sixth Schedule includes 10 autonomous district councils in 4 north eastern states. They are Assam, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Tripura. It seeks to safeguard the rights of the tribal population by forming Autonomous District Councils.

The Article 244 and Article 275 provide these special provisions.

Bordoloi Committee

The Committee was formed by the Constituent Assembly. It was formulated to provide limited autonomy to the tribal regions in the North-East. It was this committee that framed the concept of Autonomous Administration Councils in India.

Autonomous Councils

There are 10 autonomous councils in the North East and 2 in Ladakh. They are as follows

  • Meghalaya: Khasi Hills Autonomous Council, Jaintia Hills Autonomous Council and Garo Hills Autonomous Council
  • Mizoram: Chakma Autonomous Council, Mara Autonomous Council, Lai Autonmous Council
  • Tripura: Tripura Tribal Areas Autonmous Council
  • Assam: Bodoland Territorial Council, Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council and Dima Hasao Autonomous Council
  • Ladakh: Kargil and Leh

Governor Powers

The Governors can organize and re-organize the autonomous districts. He can increase or decrease the areas under the administration of the autonomous councils.

Powers of the Autonomous Councils

These Autonomous Councils can make laws on land management, forest management, formation of village council, public health and sanitation, marriage, social customs, mining, money lending, inheritance of property, village and town level policing.