Australia wins 2016 Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament

Australia has won the 25th edition of Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament 2016 for record ninth time.

In the final match played at Ipoh, Australia defeated India by 4-0 goals. With this India settled at the second position and was followed by New Zealand (defending champion) at the third position. This was the second time India had finished with the silver medal in seven final appearances.

Earlier, Australia had won the Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament in 1983, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2014. They also holds record of most titles win of this tournament.

Final Rankings: Australia (1st rank), India (2nd), New Zealand (3rd), Malaysia (4th), Pakistan (5th), Canada (6th) and Japan (7th).

About Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament

  • It is an annual international men’s field hockey tournament held in Malaysia.
  • Named after 9th king of Malaysia and ‘Father of Malaysian Hockey’ Sultan Azlan Shah.
  • It was established in 1983 as biennial sporting event. It was converted into an annual event after 1998, following its growth and popularity.



Categories: Sports