Australian PM Tony Abbott survives confidence vote on leadership in Liberal party

Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott has survived a spill vote of confidence on his leadership in the Liberal Party.

In a Liberal party room voting, the ruling Liberal Party voted to defeat the leadership spill motion by 61 to39 votes. The party decided to not open up the top positions to contenders.

Tony Abbott was elected as the Prime Minister of Australia in September 2013.


Earlier in first week of February, some MPs from Abbott’s Liberal Party openly had called a spill vote of confidence after his decline in popularity and poor ratings due to series of policy backflips.

The main aim of motion was to declare vacant the positions of party leader and deputy leader- currently occupied by Abbott and Deputy Prime Minister Julie Bishop.



Categories: International



Video from Our Channel