BRICS nations ink Moscow Declaration for supporting Multilateral Science Projects

BRICS nations Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa signed Moscow Declaration for partnership in addressing common regional and global socio-economic challenges by utilising science, technology and innovation (STI).

It was signed at the third meeting of the BRICS Ministers for Science, Technology and Innovation held in Moscow, Russia.

Indian delegation to this meeting was led by Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences.

Key facts

  • The joint declaration seeks to enhance co-investment of resources to support multilateral Research and Development (R&D) Projects in mutually agreed areas by BRICS nations.
  • BRICS nations mutually have agreed on the collaboration for
  • (i) Co-operation for large research infrastructures, including mega-science projects along with coordination of the existing large-scale national programme of member countries.
  • (ii) Implementation and development of a BRICS Framework Programme for funding joint multilateral research projects, innovation and technology commercialisation.
  • (iii) Establishment of BRICS Research and Innovation Networking Platform.
  • The meeting also endorsed a BRICS Action Plan 2015-18 on BRICS Science, Technology and Innovation cooperation.



Categories: International




  • javaid

    very important for competitive exams…