Awards Current Affairs 2018

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2018 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2018.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Infosys Prize 2018: 6 professors awarded for science and research

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) occasion of its 10th anniversary announced six winners of the Infosys Prize 2018 in the six different categories of the award. They were selected from 244 nominations by six-member jury of renowned scientists and professors.

2018 Recipients are

Engineering and Computer Science: Navakanta Bhat. He is Professor at Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore. He was awarded for his work on design of novel biosensors based on his research in biochemistry and gaseous sensors that push the performance limits of existing metal-oxide sensors.

Humanities: Kavita Singh. She is Dean, School of Arts & Aesthetics, Jawaharlal Nehru University. She was awarded for her illuminating study of Mughal, Rajput and Deccan art.

Life Sciences: Roop Mallik. He is associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR). He was awarded for his work on molecular motor proteins, which are crucial for the functioning of living cells.

Mathematical Sciences: Nalini Anantharaman. She is Professor and Chairman of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Strasbourg, France. She was awarded the prize in Mathematical Sciences for her work related to ‘Quantum Chaos.’

Physical Sciences: SK Satheesh. He is Professor, Centre for Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences, IISc Bangalore. He was awarded for his pioneering scientific work in the field of climate change.

Social Sciences: Sendhil Mullainathan. He is professor of Computation and Behavioral Science, the University of Chicago in the US. He was awarded for his path-breaking work in behavioural economics.

Infosys Prize

Infosys Prize is an annual award bestowed upon researchers, scientists, social scientists and engineers in India by the Infosys Science Foundation (ISF). It is given to six categories Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Engineering and Computer Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Humanities. The award intends to celebrate success in research and stand as a marker of excellence in these fields. Each category awardee receives 22-carat gold medallion, a citation certificate and prize money of US $100,000. It is one of the highest monetary awards in India that recognizes the scientific research.

Month: Categories: Awards Current Affairs 2018


7 people including late singer Elvis Presley awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom

United States President Donald Trump will present 7 distinguished individuals including late singer Elvis Presley 2018 Presidential Medal of Freedom on November 16, 2018.

These seven awardees includes three posthumous recipients- Music legend Elvis Presley, baseball great Babe Ruth and late Supreme Court justice Antonin Scalia. Other four are  philanthropist and heavyweight political donor Miriam Adelson and two football Hall of Famers- quarterback Roger Staubach and defensive tackle Alan Page, who later became first African American to serve on Minnesota Supreme Court.

About Presidential Medal of Freedom

It is United States’ highest civilian award. It is awarded to individuals with exceptional meritorious service to security or national interests of US, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. It was established in 1945 by President Truman, to recognize notable service in war. In 1963, President Kennedy reintroduced it as an honor for distinguished civilian service in peacetime. Majority of awardees are US citizens, but individuals from other countries are also eligible.

Month: Categories: Awards Current Affairs 2018