Awards Current Affairs 2018

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2018 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2018.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

NASI SCOPUS Young Scientist Awards-2018 presented to winners in New Delhi

National Academy of Sciences India (NASI) SCOPUS Young Scientist Awards 2018 were presented to winners in New Delhi. This year five multi-disciplinary categories in awards were introduced. The categories are agriculture, plant sciences and rural development, women in science, environmentally sound sustainable development, biomedical research and healthcare and innovation in engineering and physical sciences. These categories aligned with national missions of Make in India, Digital India, Healthy India and Clean India. The prize includes citation, trophy and Rs. 75,000. The five winners were selected from pool of about 800 candidates

2018 Winners

  • Agriculture, Plant Sciences and Rural Development: Jitender Giri, National Institute of Plant Genome Research, New Delhi.
  • Biomedical Research and Healthcare: Maddika Subba Reddy, Group Leader and Staff Scientist- V, CDFD, Hyderabad.
  • Environmentally Sound Sustainable Development: Vimal Chandra Srivastava, Indian Institute of Technology-Roorkee, Roorkee.
  • Innovation in Engineering and Physical Sciences: Ajay S. Karakoti, Associate Professor, Ahmedabad University, Ahmedabad.
  • Women in Science: Zhumur Ghosh, Bose Institute, Kolkata.

Scopus Young Scientist Awards

It was first launched by Amsterdam-based global publisher Elsevier in 2006. It is part of Elsevier’s global initiative to support early career researchers in their quest to advance frontiers of science across broad range of disciplines. In 2009, India officially adopted program within its scientific community through Elsevier’s collaboration with National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI). Indian version of this award honours outstanding young researchers in the country who are building their careers in academic research, helping them gain recognition for their work.

Month: Categories: Awards Current Affairs 2018


Infosys Prize 2018: 6 professors awarded for science and research

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) occasion of its 10th anniversary announced six winners of the Infosys Prize 2018 in the six different categories of the award. They were selected from 244 nominations by six-member jury of renowned scientists and professors.

2018 Recipients are

Engineering and Computer Science: Navakanta Bhat. He is Professor at Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore. He was awarded for his work on design of novel biosensors based on his research in biochemistry and gaseous sensors that push the performance limits of existing metal-oxide sensors.

Humanities: Kavita Singh. She is Dean, School of Arts & Aesthetics, Jawaharlal Nehru University. She was awarded for her illuminating study of Mughal, Rajput and Deccan art.

Life Sciences: Roop Mallik. He is associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR). He was awarded for his work on molecular motor proteins, which are crucial for the functioning of living cells.

Mathematical Sciences: Nalini Anantharaman. She is Professor and Chairman of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Strasbourg, France. She was awarded the prize in Mathematical Sciences for her work related to ‘Quantum Chaos.’

Physical Sciences: SK Satheesh. He is Professor, Centre for Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences, IISc Bangalore. He was awarded for his pioneering scientific work in the field of climate change.

Social Sciences: Sendhil Mullainathan. He is professor of Computation and Behavioral Science, the University of Chicago in the US. He was awarded for his path-breaking work in behavioural economics.

Infosys Prize

Infosys Prize is an annual award bestowed upon researchers, scientists, social scientists and engineers in India by the Infosys Science Foundation (ISF). It is given to six categories Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Engineering and Computer Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Humanities. The award intends to celebrate success in research and stand as a marker of excellence in these fields. Each category awardee receives 22-carat gold medallion, a citation certificate and prize money of US $100,000. It is one of the highest monetary awards in India that recognizes the scientific research.

Month: Categories: Awards Current Affairs 2018