Awards Current Affairs - 2019

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2019 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2019.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Dr Divya Karnad Wins the Prestigious Future for Nature 2019 Award

Dr Divya Karnad, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies at Ashoka University has been awarded the prestigious Global Future For Nature Award 2019 for her work on marine conservation.

Other Recipients

The other recipients of the Global Future For Nature Award is awarded for the year 2019 are: Fernanda Abra (Brazil) and Olivier Nsengimana (Rwanda).

Dr Divya Karnad’s project InSeason Fish had successfully reduced the unwanted bycatch of endangered sharks along the Coromandel coast of India.

Divya Karnad did her PhD in Geography from Rutgers University, USA and has completed her Masters in Wildlife Biology and Conservation from the Post Graduate Programme run by the National Centre for Biological Sciences, Centre for Wildlife Studies and Wildlife Conservation Society, India.

Future for Nature Award

Future for Nature 2019 Award awarded by Future for Nature foundation celebrates tangible achievements in protecting wild animal and plant species. The award aims to :

  • Reward and fund individuals for their outstanding efforts in the protection of species of wild animals and plants.
  • Stimulate Award winners to sustain their dedicated work.
  • Help winners to raise their profile, extend their professional network and strengthen their funding basis.

The Award provides the winners international recognition, financial support and reinforced linkages to an international conservation network.

Month: Categories: Awards


PM Modi awarded Seoul Peace Prize

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been honoured with the Seoul Peace Prize. The South Korean government has awarded the Seoul Peace Prize for PM Modi in recognition of his service to international cooperation, global growth and human development.

The PM Modi dedicated the award to the people of India. He stated that the award belongs to the success India has seen in less than five years, powered by 1.5 billion people.

PM Modi is the 14th recipient of the award. Past winners of the Seoul Peace Prize include former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and international relief organisations like Doctors Without Borders and Oxfam.

Seoul Peace Prize

The Seoul Peace Prize is sponsored by the Seoul Peace Prize Foundation. The Seoul Peace Prize was established in 1990 to commemorate the success of the 24th Olympic Games held in Seoul.

The Seoul Peace Prize reflects the wishes of the Korean people and to crystallize their desire for everlasting peace on earth.  The awardee receives a diploma, a plaque and honorarium of US$200,000.

The Seoul Peace Prize is awarded to Individuals or institutions which have made great contributions to the harmony of mankind and world peace in each field of endeavour around the world regardless of nation, race, religion, or ideology.


Month: Categories: Awards