Awards & Honours Current Affairs - 2020

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2019 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2019.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Sahitya Akademi awards announced

On December 18, 2019, Sahitya Akademi announced its awardees for this year. It announced seven books of poetry, six short stories, four novels, three non-fiction books and three essays.


Sashi Tharoor, the former external affairs minister has won the award for his book “An Era of Darkness”. The other awardees include Chinmoy Guha, a Bengali Professor who has won for his essay “Ghumer Darja Thele”, tamil writer Dharman for his novel “Sool”. The awards are to be presented on February 25, 2020. The winners will be honored with a copper plaque and prize money of Rs 1 lakh.

A Santhali Novel “Marom” written by Shyam Besra also won the award. It is to be noted Santhali language was used in Rajya Sabha for the first time in the recent winter session of Parliament.

Sahitya Akademi

The academy was constituted by Government of India through a resolution passed in 1952. According to its constitution the academy is run by three authorities namely a general council, finance committee and an executive board.

The proposal of forming the academy was put forth in 1944 to the British Government by the Royal Asiatic Society of Bengal. The academy till date holds the largest library of multi-lingual books in India.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

CBI officer B. P. Raju wins India Cyber Cop of the Year 2019 award

Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) officer B P Raju was awarded the ‘India Cyber Cop of the Year 2019’ during the Annual Information Security Summit held at Gurgaon, Haryana. He won the award for investigating and cracking a fraud case in an online entrance exam conducted by an engineering college in Rajasthan.

Key Highlights

The award was conferred by NASSCOM-DSCI (Data Security Council of India).

The investigation team headed by B P Raju, arrested 9 accused persons and collected incriminating evidence from digital devices, which revealed modus operandi adapted by accused and the investigation was also completed within the stipulated time period.

About Data Security Council of India (DSCI)

It is a premier industry body on data protection in India. This not-for-profit body was setup by NASSCOM (National Association of Software and Services Companies) in 2008. To further its objectives, DSCI engages with governments, regulators, industry sectors, government agencies, industry associations, and think tanks for policy advocacy.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App