Awards Current Affairs

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2019 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2019.

The Order of the Green Crescent: awarded to Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu was given ‘The Order of the Green Crescent’, the highest Civilian Honour of Comoros, in Moroni (Comoros capital). He was conferred the honour by Azali Assoumani, President of the Union of Comoros. He is the first to receive the honour from India.

Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu is on a first-ever high-level official visit to Comoros from 10 – 14 October 2019.

About The Order of the Green Crescent

It is the highest civilian honour of Comoros. This honour was actually started by a Turkish organization in the year 1920. The aim of this organization was to ban de-addiction and drugs.

Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration awarded to Chandi Prasad Bhatt

Environmentalist Chandi Prasad Bhatt was awarded Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration for the years 2017 and 2018 for his services in promoting and preserving national integration in the country. The award would be presented on 31 October 2019, in a function at Jawahar Bhawan, New Delhi.

Why 31 October? It was on 31 October 1984, when former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was killed.

About Chandi Prasad Bhatt

The 85 year old noted environmentalist and social activist hails from Uttarakhand.

In 1964 he had founded the Dasholi Gram Swarajya Sangh (DGSS) in Gopeshwar, Uttarakhand which later became a mother organisation to Chipko Movement, in which he was one of the pioneers.

He has earlier been awarded  Ramon Magsaysay Award (in 1982) for community leadership, followed by Padma Bhushan (2005) and has also been a recipient of Gandhi Peace Prize.

About Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration

The Congress in its centenary year instituted ‘Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration’, in memory of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in order to uphold the cause of national integration and understanding which was dearest to her heart. It gives recognition to outstanding contribution to this cause by individuals or institutions.

The year 2019 is the 31st edition of Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration for the year 2017 and 2018.

The award consists of a citation and Rs.10 lakh in cash. The award is given to the awardee by Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, the Congress president.

Other Prominent recipients of Award– Ramakrishna Mission Ashram, APJ Abdul Kalam, MS Swaminathan, Rajiv Gandhi, Swami Ranganathananda, Shankar Dayal Sharma, Aruna Asaf Ali, Beant Singh, PN Haksar, MS Subbulakshmi, Javed Akhtar, Bharat Scouts and Guides, Shyam Benegal, AR Rahman, Gulzar, T M Krishna.