Awards Current Affairs

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2019 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2019.

Indian scientist awarded prestigious grant under Obama initiative

Partha Mitra, an Indian researcher in the US has been awarded a prestigious research grant under President Barack Obama’s initiative to map the human brain.  

The grant will support Mitra’s endeavors to develop a “virtual neuroanatomist”, an artificial-intelligence system that can identify cell types and neural structures in microscopic images of brain slices.

Apart from Mitra, Florin Albeanu is the other scientist at the National Science Foundation who has been awarded Early Concept Grants for Exploratory Research (EAGER) under President Barack Obama’s multi-year Brain Initiative.  

The award will provide $300,000 over two years for the development of innovative conceptual and physical tools to move forward neuroscience. The awards are intended to fund short-term, proof-of-concept projects with the prospect of high-returns.

Filmmaker Muzaffar Ali conferred Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award

AliNoted filmmaker and Poet, Muzaffar Ali (69), has been conferred 22nd Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award. Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Sonia Gandhi, the president of All-India Congress Committee (AICC), presented him the award.

Muzaffar Ali has been honored with this award in recognition to his contribution in spreading Communal harmony and peace.  He had directed some of the very popular and highly extolled movies like Umrao Jaan, Gaman and Khizan. He had been honoured with Padma Shri for his works in 2005.

Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana award

It is also known as Rajiv Gandhi National Communal Harmony Award and was introduced by All-India Congress Committee (AICC) in 1992 to commemorate the contribution of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. The award is presented every year on August 20, the birth anniversary of Rajiv Gandhi as Sadbhavna Diwas (Harmony Day). It carries a cash award of Rs 5 lakh and a citation.