Awards & Honours Current Affairs - 2019

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2019 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2019.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Malala wins UN Human Rights Prize 2013

Pakistani teen activist Malala Yousafzai, who survived bullet-injury inflicted by the Taliban for championing girls’ education has won the UN Human Rights Prize 2013.

The winners of the prestigious United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights for 2013  are

  • Ms. Malala Yousafzai (student activist), Pakistan
  • Mr. Biram Dah Abeid (campaigner against slavery) from Mauritania
  • Ms. Hiljmnijeta Apuk (human rights activist and campaigner for rights of people with disproportional restricted growth – short stature) from Kosovo
  • Ms. Liisa Kauppinen of Finland – President emeritus of the World Federation of the Deaf
  • Ms. Khadija Ryadi –  former President of the Morocco Association for Human Rights
  • Mexico’s Supreme Court of Justice – the Constitutional Court 

The twentieth anniversary of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights and the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action  are also organized with the Award Ceremony which would  take place at United Nations Headquarters in New York on Human Rights Day (December 10). 

What is the United Nations Prize in the Field of Human Rights? 
  • An honorary award given to individuals and organizations in recognition of outstanding achievement in human rights in every five years.
  • The Laureates who won this award later are – Amnesty International, Jimmy Carter, Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela and Eleanor Roosevelt.
  • The Prize not only  gives public recognition to the achievements of the recipients themselves, but also sends a clear message to human rights defenders the world over that the international community is grateful for, and supports, their tireless efforts to promote all human rights for all.

Prof CNR Rao becomes first Indian scientist elected to Chinese Academy of Science

Screenshot_3Eminent Scientist and Bharat Ratna awardee Prof CNR Rao has become the first Indian scientist to be elected as honorary foreign member of Chinese Academy of Science (CAS).

CAS consists of several Nobel laureates and eminent scientists of the world. Prof. Rao was recently awarded the Bharat Ratna. In 2012, CAS had conferred on him the prestigious Award for International Scientific Cooperation.

About C.N.R. Rao (Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao)
  • An Indian scientist
  • One of the world’s foremost chemists in the field of Solid State, Structural and Materials Chemistry.
  • His work on transition metal oxides led to basic understanding of novel phenomena and the relationship between materials properties and the structural chemistry of metal oxides.
  • Currently, he heads the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India.
  • Authored around 1500 research papers.
  • Authored and edited 45 books.
  • First Indian scientist to reach the h-index of 100.
  • One of the earliest to synthesize two-dimensional oxide materials such as La2CuO4.
  • His findings have resulted into a systematic study of compositionally controlled metal-insulator transitions. Such findings have immensely helped in fields such as colossal magneto resistance and high temperature superconductivity. His oxide semiconductors have uncommon promise.
  • Made significant contributions to nano materials, apart from his work on hybrid materials.
  • Elected to almost all scientific academies of the world including The Royal Society -London, National Academy of Science – USA, Pontifical Academy of Science, Japan Academy and Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences, among others.
  • Conferred 60 Honoris Causa (Honorary Doctorates) by various universities across the globe.
What is h-index (also called the Hirsch index or Hirsch number)?
  • h-index (also called the Hirsch index or Hirsch number) is a tool that measures the productivity and impact of the published work of a scientist or scholar.
  • Based on the set of the scientist’s most cited papers and the number of citations that the individual has received in other publications.
  • Physicist Jorge Hirsch was the first one to coin it in 2005.
  • George Whitesides of Harvard University has an h-index of 169, which makes him the highest ranked living chemist.