Awards & Honours Current Affairs - 2020

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2019 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2019.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Annual Asian Achievers Awards: Anil Agarwal honoured with lifetime achievement award

Vedanta Resources Chairman Anil Agarwal was conferred lifetime achievement award at prestigious Annual Asian Achievers Awards in London, UK. The year 2019 marks the 19th edition of Annual Asian Achievers Awards.

Key Highlights

Novelist Jeffrey Archer helped raise GBP 150,000 for India-based charity group Yuva Unstoppable in an auction at awards night.

Theme for 19th Annual Asian Achievers Awards: ‘Inclusivity’. As inclusivity is not about diversity but about being inclusive of everyone therefore this year’s candidates included LGBT community also.


Onkardeep Singh MBE: Achievement in Community Services

Faisal Islam: Achievement in Media, Arts & Culture

Vipul Vadera: Businessperson of the Year

Kush Kanodia: Entrepreneur of the Year

Krishna Omkar: Professional of the Year

Harjit Singh Bhania: Sports Personality of the Year

Hafsa Qureshi: Uniformed, Civil and Public Services

Neeta Patel: Woman of the Year

Anil Agarwal: Lifetime Achievement Award

Rajesh Agrawal, London Deputy Mayor: Editor’s Award for Public Services

Dr. Nilesh U Patel MD: Editor’s Award for Contribution to Thoracic Surgery

Pradip Dhamecha: Editor’s Choice Award for Community service, Philanthropy and Entrepreneur

About Asian Achievers Awards

The annual awards are hosted by Asian Business Publications Ltd (ABPL). ABPL are publishers of Asian Voice and Gujarat Samachar.

It recognises outstanding work from individuals from across all professions and businesses within Asian community as well as acknowledge accomplishments of finest in United Kingdom’s Asian community.

The award is now into its 19th year and is consistently favoured by Asian community as most prestigious and highly respected awards.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Glorious Diaspora – Pride of India’: Book on Pravasi Bharatiya Samman awardees released

A Coffee Table Book titled ‘Glorious Diaspora- Pride of India’ on Pravasi Bharatiya Samman awardees was released by Vice President of India, M. Venkaiah Naidu in New Delhi.

About ‘Glorious Diaspora- Pride of India’

The book contains the brief profiles of recipients of Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards (PBSA) from 2003 to 2019. It has been brought out by Indian Diaspora Club.

It includes inspiring profile of Distinguished Overseas Indians who have made their indelible mark in various fields.

About Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award

PBSA was first launched in 2003.  It is the highest honour conferred upon by the Indian Governmen to overseas Indian.

Since its launch, many deserving people of Indian origin from across the world have been honoured, which includes politicians, economists, scientists, artists and business leaders from around the world.

The PBSA is conferred every year on January 9, which is celebrated as Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD). It was chosen as the day since it was on 9 January 1915,  Mahatma Gandhi (greatest Pravasi) returned to India from South Africa and led India’s freedom struggle thereafter.

PBSA is conferred by President of India as part of Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) Convention. It is conferred on a Non-Resident Indian (NRIs), Person of Indian Origin (PIOs) or an institution/organization established and run by NRIs or PIOs, who have made a significant contribution in any one of following ways-

  • Supporting India’s causes and concerns in a tangible way
  • Social as well as humanitarian causes in India or abroad
  • For promoting a better understanding of India abroad
  • Building closer links between India, overseas Indian community and their country of residence
  • Philanthropic and charitable work
  • Welfare of local Indian community

While convention was held on an annual basis till 2014, it is being organized once in 2 years from 2015.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App