Awards & Honours Current Affairs - 2019

Awards and Honours in Current Affairs 2019 with latest winners of various awards in India and world. Current Affairs list of awards and prize won in India and world for 2019.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskars for 2018 announced

Sangeet Natak Akademi, National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, has announced 2018 Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskars for artistes artistes below 40 years of age.

Key Highlights

The Sangeet Natak Akademi’s General Council at its meeting held on 26 June 2019 at Guwahati, Assam unanimously selected 32 (Including one joint Awards) Indian artists who have made a mark as young talents in their respective fields of performing arts for Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar 2018.

The artists are selected for Yuva Puraskar 2018 in field of-

  • Music: 8 recipients
  • Dance: 8 recipients
  • Theatre: 7 recipients
  • Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre and Puppetry- 8 recipients

About Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar

The award was instituted in 2006, in memory of Ustad Bismillah Khan.

It is conferred upon young artists below 40 years of age for their talent in fields of music, dance and drama.

Yuva Puraskar will be presented at a special ceremony, by Chairman of Sangeet Natak Akademi.

Objective: behind conferring award is to identify and encourage outstanding young talents in diverse fields of performing arts. The award gives them national recognition early in their life, so that they may work with greater commitment and dedication in their chosen fields.

Prize: Award carries money of Rs.25000.

About Sangeet Natak Akademi

The National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama is the apex body of performing arts in India. It was set up by Indian education ministry on 31 May 1952 and became functional the following year (in 1953).

Parent organization: Union Ministry of Culture

Function: To preserve and promote vast cultural heritage of India expressed in music, dance and drama.

It also works with governments and art academies in states and territories of India.

Month:  Categories: Awards & Honours


Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships Awards for 2018 announced

Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, has elected 4 eminent personalities in field of Performing Arts namely tabla virtuoso Zakir Hussain, dancer Sonal Mansingh, dancer and choreographer Jatin Goswami and Bharatnatyam exponent K. Kalyanasundaram Pillai for the prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellows or Akademi Ratna Awards for 2018. The fellowship, referred to as Akademi Ratna, is a coveted honour conferred on artists.

Key Highlights

The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi at its meeting held on 26 June 2019 at Guwahati, Assam unanimously elected 4 eminent personalities.

Akademi Puraskar for 2018: Akademi’s General Council also selected 44 artistes from field of Music, Dance, Theatre across Traditional, Folk, And Tribal Genres, Puppetry and overall contribution/scholarship to the performing arts for Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards or Akademi Puraskar for 2018. These 44 selected artists include 3 Joint Awards.

Akademi Awards 2018: in the field of-

  • Music- 11 artists have been selected
  • Dance- 9 eminent artists have been selected
  • Theatre- 9 eminent artists have been selected
  • Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre and Puppetry- 10 artists have been selected
  • Overall Contribution/Scholarship in Performing Arts- 2 are selelcted

About Sangeet Natak Akademi Award

It has been conferred since 1952 and is the highest Indian recognition given to practicing artists.

These honours not only symbolize highest standard of excellence and achievements, but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution.

Akademi Fellow honour carries a purse money of Rs.3,00,000/- (3 lakh)

Akademi Award honour carries Rs 1,00,000/- (1 lakh), besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

The awards will be conferred by President of India at a special investiture ceremony.

Month:  Categories: Awards & Honours