Constitution & Law Current Affairs - 2019

Summary of latest bill and acts passed or pending in 2019 in Parliament of India with their salient features and issues for Current Affairs 2019 preparation for various examinations such as UPSC, SSC, State Civil Services, CLAT, Judicial Services etc.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

President’s rule imposed in Andhra Pradesh

President Mr. Pranab Mukherjee approved the Telengana Bill and on the recommendation of the Union Cabinet imposed President’s Rule in Andhra Pradesh. 

Why President’s rule imposed in Andhra Pradesh?

  • Due to the resignation of Mr. N. Kiran Kumar Reddy from the CM post of Andhra (to protest against the passage of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill to create a separate State of Telangana), the President’s rule imposed in Andhra Pradesh, as the State was without a Chief Minister and no party came forward to form the government.
  • President Mr. Pranab Mukherjee gave his nod to place under suspended animation the Andhra Pradesh assembly whose term is slated to end on June 2, 2014.
  • After President’s assent to the Telangana bill, appointed day yet to be published in the Gazettee of India.

About President’s Rule (Article 356 of the Constitution of India)

  • Purpose: To deal with the failure of the Constitutional machinery of an Indian state.
  • In practice, President’s rule has been imposed under different circumstances viz.State Legislature is unable to elect a leader as Chief Minister, Breakdown of a coalition, Elections postponed for unavoidable reasons, etc.
  • The President on the advice of the governor or on his own attains the right to dissolve the state government and its council of ministers, thereby impose president rule. The parliament must approve the president rule to come into effect. After the implementation of president rule, the governor heads the state and takes all the power.
  • When President’s rule is imposed, the assembly is either dissolved or kept in suspended. 

Excerpts of the Telangana Bill:

  • Telangana will have 10 districts and the rest of Andhra Pradesh 13 districts.
  • Hyderabad will remain the joint capital of Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh for ten years.
  • The Bhadrachalam division will continue to be with Khammam district which will be part of Telangana.
  • NTPC will construct a 4,000 MW power project in Telangana to solve the electricity problem in the region.
  • A petroleum university will be constructed in Seemandhra region while seats for Semmandhra students in educational institutes in Telangana will be reserved for ten years.
  • Article 371 D will continue for the both states to ensure equitable opportunities for education and public employment.
  • Telangana comprises 10 districts: – Hyderabad, Adilabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy and Warangal. 

Note: Till now, India consists of 28 states and 7 union territories. Soon, Telangana will become the 29th state of India, as it got approval from President of India.

Month:  Categories: Constitution & LawPlaces in News


National Lok Adalat to be held in Nagpur on April 12, 2014

Due to large number of pending cases, the District Legal Services Authority is organizing a National Lok Adalat at Nagpur on April 12, 2014.

  • The National Lok Adalat will be conducted at all levels right from the Supreme Court, High Courts, it benches upto the Taluka Courts.
  • The mechanism of Lok Adalats available for disposal and resolution of disputes will be used to clear pending cases at the earliest by sorting out suitable ones.

In the National Lok Adalat, cases viz. criminal compoundable cases, negotiable instrument act Cases U/S 138, motor accident claim petitions, accident information report (AIR), state transport cases and matrimonial and family courts cases will be taken into account.

Month:  Categories: Constitution & Law


Monthly Current Affairs Compilations are also available in GKToday's Academy App for Android Mobiles. Download Now