Sports Current Affairs 2017

Germany wins Champions Trophy Hockey by defeating Pakistan

Olympic Champions Germany has won the Champions Trophy Hockey title.  It is Germany’s 10th Champions Trophy title. Germany defeated Pakistan by score of 2-0 goal margin in the final match held at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar, Odhisa.

Earlier for the third position India lost to Australia 1-2.

In other classification encounters, the Netherlands defeated Argentina 4-1 in the fifth-sixth place play-off match, while England defeated Belgium 3-2 to finish seventh.

About Champions Trophy Hockey

It is an international field hockey tournament organized by the International Hockey Federation. It was established in 1978 by Pakistan’s Air Marshal Nur Khan and the Pakistan Hockey Federation. This tournament features the world’s top-ranked field hockey teams competing in a round robin format.

Earlier, the tournament was organized annually, but in 2014 it was changed from an annual to a biennial event, due to the introduction of the Hockey World League.

In the men’s tournament, the Australians have won the trophy 13 times, Germany 10 times and the Netherlands 8 times, Pakistan 3 times. While India has it won once.



East zone wins Deodhar trophy 2014-15

East Zone has won the Deodhar Trophy 2014- 15, a cricket tournament, by beating West Zone by 24 runs. The final match was held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. East Zone won the toss and opted to bat first. East zone captain was Manoj Tiwary while West Zone was led by Yusuf Pathan.

Score: East Zone 269 for 8 in 50 overs beat West Zone 245 in 47.2 overs.

About Deodhar Trophy

  • Deodhar Trophy is a List A cricket competition in Indian domestic cricket.
  • It is named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar who is known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket. The competition was introduced in 1973-74 season. The first trophy was won by South Zone.

Match format: It is a 50-over knockout competition played on an annual basis among the 5 zonal teams – North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone. Two teams play in a quarter-final match, with the winner progressing to the semi-finals, met with the remaining 3 teams. From then, it is a simple knockout tournament. North Zone has won this trophy with a record of 13 times.