Sports & Games Current Affairs - 2019

Latest Sports Current Affairs 2019 for National and International sports and tournaments, awards, trophies and cups related to cricket, football, tennis and other sports for UPSC, SSC, States, Civil services and other competitive examinations.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Mohun Bagan Ratna Award 2019: Keshav Dutt, Prasun Banerjee

Two-time Olympic gold medal winning Hockey Player Keshav Dutt and former India Football Captain Prasun Banerjee are selected for Mohun Bagan Ratna Award 2019. Awards will be given away on annual celebration of Mohun Bagan Day (29 July).

This is for the 1st time Mohun Bagan’s executive committee has decided to confer their highest honour to a non-footballer i.e. a sportsperson from other discipline.

Keshav Dutt

The 93 year old Dutt, who played as a half-back, was part of National hockey team that won gold medals after India’s Independence– 1948 London Games, where India won the 1st gold post-Independence and 2nd Olympic gold in 1952 Helsinki.

He is one of the oldest surviving hockey Olympians of country.

Prasun Banerjee

The 64-year-old Banerjee, was a prominent midfielder of his times. He is the younger brother of iconic footballer P.K. Banerjee. He played in 3 Asian Games in 1974, 1978 and 1982 and was also part of an Asian All Star XI team.

Other Awardess

Arijit Bagui: The Best Football Player for the season 2018-19

Mohammed Shami: India’s hat-trick hero of 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

Ashok Chatterjee (Footballer): The Lifetime Achievement Award.

The club will also confer life membership to distinguished personalities- Chuni Goswami, Sourav Ganguly, Dr.Vece Paes, Deb Shankar Halder and Prasenjit Chatterjee.

About Mohun Bagan Ratna

It is an award presented each year on Mohun Bagan Day to outstanding former players. 1st recipient was former captain Sailen Manna in 2001.

Mohun Bagan Day: Every year 29 July is celebrated as Mohun Bagan Day. It is on this day in 1911 the Mariners became 1st club to defeat a British club, East Yorkshire Regiment, and lift IFA Shield, an annual football competition organized by the Indian Football Association.

21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship begins in Cuttack

Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship 2019 began at the Jawaharlal Indoor Stadium in Cuttack, Odisha. The tournament will be held from Wednesday 17th to Monday 22nd July 2019. 12 Nations are participating in 21st edition of CTTC. The event was inaugurated by Governor of Odisha Prof. Ganeshi Lal.

Key Highlights

The final list of nations that are competing in Table Tennis tournament include India, Malaysia, Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Cyprus, England, Nigeria, South Africa, Singapore, Wales and Scotland. The teams of Ghana, Guyana and Pakistan have pulled out at the last minute.



Group A: England, Sri Lanka, Cyprus

Group B: India, Scotland, Singapore

Group C: Nigeria, Malaysia, Bangladesh

Group D: Australia, South Africa, Wales


Group A: Singapore, Wales, Scotland

Group B: India, Sri Lanka, South Africa

Group C: Australia, Malaysia, Cyprus

Group D: Nigeria, England, Bangladesh

Format: allows two teams from each group to qualify for second stage.

On inaugural day of Tournament-

Men’s category

India defeated Scotland by 3-0 while England defeated Cyprus by 3-0.

Nigeria defeated Bangladesh by 3-0 and Australia defeated Wales by 3-0.

Women’s category

India defeated Srilanka by 3-0.

Australia defeated Cyprus by 3-0.

Nigeria defeated Bangladesh by 3-0.

About Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship

It was formed at meeting of Commonwealth delegates held in Munich, Germany at World Championships 1969. It was 1st staged in 1971 in Singapore.

CTTC 2019

It will be 21st edition of event and marks its 50 year anniversary.

Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) is hosting 2019 Commonwealth Championships.

India 1st staged tournament in Bombay (1982), Hyderabad (1994) and New Delhi (2001), Jaipur (2007), New Delhi (2013) and Surat (2015).