Sports Current Affairs - 2019

Latest Sports Current Affairs 2019 for National and International sports and tournaments, awards, trophies and cups related to cricket, football, tennis and other sports for UPSC, SSC, States, Civil services and other competitive examinations.

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Australian Open 2019

Australian Open which is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis event concluded at Melbourne in Australia. Nicknamed as the happy slam, the Australian Open has grown to become the largest annual sporting event in the Southern Hemisphere.

Grand Slam tennis events

Apart from Australian Open, Other Grand Slam tennis events are  French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open.

Winners of the Australian Open 2019

The Winners of the Australian Open 2019 are:

  • Women’s Singles: Naomi Osaka of Japan.
  • Men’s Singles: Novak Djokovic of Serbia.
  • Women’s Doubles: Samantha Stosur of Australia and Zhang Shuai of China.
  • Men’s Doubles: Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut of France.
  • Mixed Doubles: Czech Republic’s Barbora Krejcikova and Rajeev Ram of the US.

Novak Djokovic of Serbia become the first man to win seven titles at Australian Open. The victory of Naomi Osaka of Japan cements her place as number one women singles player of the world.

Month: Categories: Sports


ICC awards 2018

The ICC awards recognise and honour the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months. The ICC awards 2018 list:

  • Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli
  • ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year: Virat Kohli
  • ICC ODI Player of the Year: Virat Kohli
  • ICC Emerging Player of the Year: Rishabh Pant
  • ICC Associate Player of the Year: Calum MacLeod
  • T20I Performance of the Year: Aaron Finch
  • ICC Spirit of Cricket award: Williamson
  • Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dharmasena
  • Fans’ Moment of the Year: India’s victory in the Under-19 World Cup

Selection Process

The awardees are selected by a process wherein ICC Selection committee comprises eminent former players selects the finalists for the various awards. Then the awardees are selected through votes by an electoral college comprising of current national team captains of Test playing nations, members of the Elite Panel of ICC umpires and referees, prominent former players and cricket correspondents. The awards are shared in case of a tie.

Month: Categories: Sports