States Current Affairs – 2018

Adya Sharma, cultural icon and pioneer of mobile theatre in Assam passes away

Adya Sharma, a cultural icon and pioneer of mobile theatre in Assam passed away in Nalbari town, Assam. He was 86.

Sharma was pioneer in bringing innovation in the technical aspects of mobile theatre which made it more attractive and capable of staging more complex themes.

He was born in 1929 and was famously known as Guruji in the artist circle of Assam. He had made his debut  into mobile theatre in 1966 through Purbajyoti Theatre.

He was also well known painter and sculpture artist in Assam.

He was awarded Bishnu Prasad Rabha Award by Assam Government and Pranab Barua Award for contribution to the cultural world. Assam government also had honoured him with artiste’s pension.

He is also founder of Ranghar, an organisation dedicated to promote paintin in Nalbari.


Nitish Kumar sworn in as CM of Bihar for 4th time

Nitish Kumar has sworn in as the Chief Minister (CM) of Bihar for the 4th time.

Governor of Bihar Keshri Nath Tripathi administered the oath of office and secrecy to him at the oath taking ceremony held at Raj Bhawan in Patna.

Along with Nitish Kumar, 22 Janta Dal United (JDU) Party legislators, including three women were also sworn in as Cabinet Ministers.

Earlier on 20 February 2015, Jitan Ram Manjhi had resigned as CM ending a month long political turmoil in Bihar

About Nitish Kumar

  • Nitish Kumar was born on 1st March 1951 in Bakhtiarpur District of Bihar.
  • He had started his political career by taking part in the mass movement led by Jayaprakash Narayan between 1974 and 1977.
  • Kumar was elected to Bihar legislative assembly for first time in 1985. He was elected to Lok Sabha for 4 consecutive times, first in 1989 than in 1991, 1996 and 1998.
  • Union Minister- In 1990, for a brief stint he was Union Minister of Agriculture. In 1998-99, he was Union Minister for Railways and Surface Transport and Minister for Agriculture.
  • He was Union Cabinet Minister for Railways in the NDA Government of Atal Bihari Vajpayee from 2001- 2004.
  • CM of Bihar- In 2000, for first time he was made CM of Bihar but had resigned within 7 days. In 2005, he was sworn in as the CM of Bihar for second time and in 2010 for third time. In May 2014 he had resigned from the CM post taking the responsibility of his party’s (JDU) dismal performance in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.